Databases
Select Public Health Databases
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Provides access to citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some links to full-text content. Some coverage back to 1809. Covers chemicals and bioassays, DNA and RNA, data and software, domains and structures, genes and expression, genetics and medicine, genomes and maps, homology, literature, proteins, sequence analysis, taxonomy, training and tutorials, and variation. Searchable by author, date, grant number journal, MeSH variables, EC/RN number, etc. Limitable by type of article species, subsets, language, sex, age, etc. PubMed is part of the larger NCBI website. Customizable personal accounts available.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Includes some full-text articles. Coverage generally from 1946 to present with some older material. Covers life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities. Search keyword, author, title, etc. Limitable by sex, age, clinical queries, subject subset, publication type, etc. EBSCOhost.
- CINAHL with full text This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic data and some full text from literature in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) from 1981 to the present. Provides indexing for 1 835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable using author, keyword, title, MedLine PMID, etc. Limitable by clinical queries, journal subset, special interest, age groups, language, etc. Automatically defaults to suggest subject terms. EBSCOhost.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Embase covers the biomedical and pharmacological literature. It is particularly strong in European and international literature. It has 30 million+ records from 8 500+ currently published journals. Embase includes six million+ records and 2 700+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE.
- Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes citations to book reviews and abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. It includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts. Records. Searchable by author, title, keyword, descriptors, source, and 26 other fields. Covers the years 1952 to the present time. ProQuest/CSA.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides the complete text of many significant McGraw-Hill medical textbooks in areas such as cardiology, family medicine, gynecology, internal medicine, microbiology, obstetrics, pharmacology, physiology, surgery, diagnosis and treatment and much more. Useful for residents, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, physicians and healthcare students. Searchable and easily browsed. Entire chapters can be printed. McGraw-Hill
* For the differences between PubMed, MEDLINE, and Embase, click HERE (opens in a new window)
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Provides citations and abstracts of, peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, patents, and quality web sources as far back as 1823. Includes 4 collections: life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences and humanities. Search documents, authors, or affiliation. Advanced search uses Boolean operators and codes. Limitable by facets. Provides related articles and citation information. Customizable personal accounts. Part of the SciVerse system.
- Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to bibliographic information of journal articles through the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1900 to present. Search by topic, author, publication, editor, language, etc. Provides citation information. Limitable by facets. Customizable personal accounts.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window OneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including: traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.); the Baylor Digital Collections; BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.); research guides; and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.
List of all Public Health databases
Journals
Selected Public Health Journals
Select Public Health journal collections
Public Health Journals subscribed by Baylor University Libraries
Other Resources or Related Information
- World Health Organization This link opens in a new window Provides information, publications, data, and statistics on global health matters within the work of the United Nations. Includes information on health topics, news on disease outbreaks and emergencies & disasters, and information on WHO initiatives.
- Data.gov This link opens in a new window Provides access to publicly available and downloadable datasets, citizen-developed apps, mobile apps, and U.S. government apps. Dataset contributors include federal and state government, universities, non-profits, and other organizations. This site features a searchable data catalog that includes access to raw data and interactive data. Note: by accessing available datasets or tools, you are agreeing to the data policy set by the contributing entity.
- Food Access Research Atlas (USDA) The Food Access Research Atlas: Presents a spatial overview of food access indicators for low-income and other census tracts using different measures of supermarket accessibility; Provides food access data for populations within census tracts; and Offers census-tract-level data on food access that can be downloaded for community planning or research purposes.
