Journal Articles and Collections: American History
In addition to the primary scholarly finding aid, America History and Life, listed above, the following resources are very useful for locating both primary source items and/or scholarly studies on various aspects of American history, society, and culture.
-
HarpWeek This link opens in a new windowHarper's Weekly was a major publication of 19th century America which covered the issues of the day and included literature, art, cartoons, and news. Major source for the study of the 19th century. Coverage begins in 1857. Please click the "I Accept" button on the Web Access Agreement page that will display first.
-
American periodicals This link opens in a new windowAmerican Periodical Series (APS) indexes and reproduces in full-text complete runs of major American periodicals from colonial days to the start of the 20th century. Excellent resource for culture and lifestyle as well as history.
-
ProQuest historical newspapers. The New York times This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of the New York Times from it's first issues in 1851. Don't overlook the advertisements as an indication of social status and developments.
Scholarly Articles: African History
In addition to the "Top Six" listed on the Featured Resources tab, these two databases will be useful resources for discovering scholarly articles and reviews of books on the history of Africa and Africa as part of the Atlantic world.
-
Historical abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides abstracts to scholarly journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, books and book reviews in history for all countries except the United States and Canada.
-
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowPrimary resource for scholarship on Islam and the Muslim world. Many regions of Africa prior to European colonization were Islamic, so don't overlook this resource.
-
AfricaBib: Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to AfricaSpecialized subset of the AfricaBib web site (on the "Featured Resources" tab). Its design is a bit old but very serviceable. No full-text and no links provided to Baylor's holdings; cut and paste the journal name into the BearCat search tab to see if we own it; fill out an interlibrary loan (OsoFast) request if we don't.
-
AfricaBibA specialized subset of AfricaBib (on the "Featured Resources" tab). Its design is a bit old but very serviceable. No full-text and no links provided to Baylor's holdings; cut and paste the journal name into the BearCat search tab to see if we own it; fill out an interlibrary loan (OsoFast) request if we don't.
Scholarly Articles: United States History
Listed below are the essential sources for finding scholarly journal articles in the field of American history.
-
America: history and life This link opens in a new windowThe most important source for locating what has been published by scholars in all areas of the history of NORTH America and Canada.
-
JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines.
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Indexes popular and scholarly journal articles, essays, indigenous/First People's newspapers, books, and book reviews on all aspects of indigenous people of the United States and Canada.
