Explanation
The designation "Evangelical" overlaps almost all Protestant bodies in the English speaking world, as almost all Protestant communions have an evangelical wing. And many Protestant bodies would regard their make up as exclusively evangelical in theology and sentiments. But as a self-identified transconfessional international theological and spiritual movement that identifies itself as such and produces its own biographical resources, it is necessary to provide a separate heading for Evangelical resources.
Electronic bio-dictionaries
Evangelicals
Biographical dictionary of evangelicals by Call Number: Jones Ref BV3780 .B56 2003ISBN: 0830829253Most useful for: Evangelical biographical research. Good coverage of preachers and articles are often lengthier here than in other biographies of same figure.
Blackwell dictionary of evangelical biography: 1730–1860 by Call Number: Jones Ref BR1640 .B53 1995ISBN: 0631173846Most useful for: researching Anglo-American Evangelical leaders from the early-mid 18th to the mid-latish 19th centuries. The tight (130 year) chronological focus enables a much broader coverage of persons than would be possible without this restriction. Good for researching revivalists, theologians, social reformers of the period in question.
Encyclopedia of evangelicalism by Call Number: Jones Ref BR1640 .B35 2004ISBN: 193279204XMost useful for: researching Evangelical leaders. Thorough coverage of figures from this tradition. Entries for less prominent or historically significant figures are frequently quite brief. But many otherwise low profile historical figures get an entry in this work.- The Australian dictionary of evangelical biography by Call Number: Jones Ref BR1643.A1 A97x 1994ISBN: 0646166255Publication Date: 1994Most useful for: researching Australian evangelical leaders from European settlement of Australia to 1939.
Handbook of Evangelical theologians by Call Number: Jones Ref BR1640 .H363 1993ISBN: 0801032121Most useful for: (self-explanatory)
