Anglican Communion (Episcopal Church)
- A dictionary of English church history byCall Number: Jones Ref BX5007 .O5
A new dictionary for Episcopalians by Call Number: Moody General Collection BX5007 .W34 1985ISBN: 0866837876
The SPCK handbook of Anglican theologians by Call Number: Moody General Collection BX5009 .S68x 1998ISBN: 0281051453
Baptists
- A dictionary of European Baptist life and thought byCall Number: Jones Ref BX6211 .D54 2009ISBN: 1842275356
- Encyclopedia of Southern Baptists.Call Number: Jones Ref BX6211 .E5ISBN: 0805465111Dated but useful for historic biographies of Southern Baptist clergy.
Theologians of the Baptist tradition by Call Number: Moody General Collection BX6331.2 .B29 2001ISBN: 0805417729
Baptist life and thought, 1600-1980 : a source book by Call Number: Moody General Collection BX6235 .B34 1983ISBN: 0817009590
Historical dictionary of the Baptists by Call Number: Jones Ref BX6211 .B73 2009ISBN: 0810856220Brief entries, good cross referencing, generally good bibliographies. Unfortunately the bibliographies are not appended to each article but appear at the back of each volume.
Congregationalism
Charismatic & Pentecostal
- Biographical dictionary of African-American, Holiness-Pentecostals, 1880-1990 byCall Number: Moody General Collection BX8762.Z8 D86 1989ISBN: 0961605693
The new international dictionary of Pentecostal and charismatic movements.Call Number: Jones Ref BR1644 .D53 2002ISBN: 0310224810
Evangelicals
The designation "Evangelical" overlaps almost all Protestant bodies in the English speaking world, as almost all Protestant communions have an evangelical wing. And many Protestant bodies would regard their make up as exclusively evangelical in theology and sentiments. But as a self-identified transconfessional international theological and spiritual movement that identifies itself as such and produces its own biographical resources, it is necessary to provide a separate heading for Evangelical resources.
Biographical dictionary of evangelicals by Call Number: Jones Ref BV3780 .B56 2003ISBN: 0830829253Scope:
Geographic: International (though with a historically Euro-centric/ North American focus)
Religious: Evangelical Christian
Racial/Cultural: multi-ethnic, multi-cultural (European figures predominate)
Subject Coverage: wide breadth of figures covered; detailed, in-depth entries
Typical article length: Varies widely but 1 page appears to be average length for majority.
Bibliographies: yes
Most useful for: Evangelical biographical research. Good coverage of preachers and articles are often lengthier here than in other biographies of same figure.- Blackwell dictionary of evangelical biography: 1730–1860 byCall Number: Jones Ref BR1640 .B53 1995ISBN: 0631173846Most useful for: researching Anglo-American Evangelical leaders from the early-mid 18th to the mid-latish 19th centuries. The tight (130 year) chronological focus enables a much broader coverage of persons than would be possible without this restriction. Good for researching revivalists, theologians, social reformers of the period in question.
Encyclopedia of evangelicalism by Call Number: Jones Ref BR1640 .B35 2004ISBN: 193279204XMost useful for: researching Evangelical leaders. Thorough coverage of figures from this tradition. Entries for less prominent or historically significant figures are frequently quite brief. But many otherwise low profile historical figures get an entry in this work.- The Australian dictionary of evangelical biography byCall Number: Jones Ref BR1643.A1 A97x 1994ISBN: 0646166255Most useful for: researching Australian evangelical leaders from European settlement of Australia to 1939.
Handbook of Evangelical theologians by Call Number: Jones Ref BR1640 .H363 1993ISBN: 0801032121Most useful for: (self-explanatory)
Lutheran
- The encyclopedia of the Lutheran Church byCall Number: Jones Ref BX8007 .B6
Mennonites
The Mennonite encyclopedia; a comprehensive reference work on the Anabaptist-Mennonite movement.Call Number: Jones Ref BX8106 .M37ISBN: 0836131053
Methodism
A biographical dictionary of 18th century Methodism by Call Number: Jones Ref BX8491 .R64 1997ISBN: 077348678X- Black United Methodists : retrospect and prospect byCall Number: Moody General Collection BX8435 .G73x 1979ISBN: 053304023X
The Irish in world Methodism, 1760-1900 by Call Number: Moody General Collection BV2550.T25 1986ISBN: 0716204231- The encyclopedia of world Methodism. byCall Number: Jones Ref BX8211.E53x
Reformed and Presbyterian
Dictionary of the Presbyterian & Reformed tradition in America by Call Number: Moody General Collection BX8909 .D53 1999ISBN: 0830814531
Historical dictionary of the Reformed Churches by Call Number: Moody General Collection BX9415 .B46 2010ISBN: 081085807X
