Research Help
Beth Farwell
Contact:
Baylor Univ Libraries
One Bear Place 97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148
Moody Library
309
One Bear Place 97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148
Moody Library
309
254-710-3679
Subjects: Museum Studies, Special Collections
Glossaries
- ABAA Book GlossaryThis abbreviated glossary covers only the most commonly encountered terms. There may be exceptions to some of our definitions - our main concern is to provide you with general concepts relative to commonly used book jargon. Abbreviations appear alphabetized at the beginning of each respective letter; only the most common abbreviations are included.
Background research tools
- Encyclopedia of popular music This link opens in a new window
Covers all genres and periods of popular music from 1900. Includes the full contents of the 10-volume fourth edition, plus online-only entries published since.
- Index to printed music This link opens in a new windowA finding tool used to identify individual works within scholarly editions published from 1720 to 2006, such as the complete works of composers and historical anthologies. IPM provides many ways to search -- by composer, editor, series, title, genre, instrumentation, and more. Once items are found, search OneSearch to see if the collection is available in the Crouch Fine Arts Library. IPM uses the EBSCOhost interface.
- Oxford music online This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive reference work for music in English, with continually updated content. Searches Grove Music Online initially; on search results pages, provides links to more results from The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Oxford University Press.
Additional resources
- Library of Congress - Music Treasures ConsortiumThe Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship.
- GallicaThe digital portal of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
- British Library - Discovering MusicDiscovering Music brings to life the social, political and cultural context in which key musical works were created. Enjoy digitised treasures from our collection, newly commissioned articles, videos, and teachers’ notes.
- The Morgan Library & MuseumMusic Manuscripts Online provides access to a selection of more than 700 digitized music manuscripts from the Morgan’s collections, for study and enjoyment.
