Research Help
Beth Farwell
Contact:
Baylor Univ Libraries
One Bear Place 97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148
Moody Library
309
One Bear Place 97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148
Moody Library
309
254-710-3679
Glossaries
- Abbreviationes online : medieval abbreviations on the Web This link opens in a new windowAllows searching of abbreviations used in medieval Latin texts. Provides all possible expansions of the abbreviation. Searching by exact abbreviation, contains, is like, begins with, or ends with. Abbreviations are based on examples in manuscripts from the 8th to the 15th centuries from around the world.
- ABAA Book GlossaryThis abbreviated glossary covers only the most commonly encountered terms. There may be exceptions to some of our definitions - our main concern is to provide you with general concepts relative to commonly used book jargon. Abbreviations appear alphabetized at the beginning of each respective letter; only the most common abbreviations are included.
Background research tools
- Biblical studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Biblical studies, including perspectives from fields ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminism, philosophy, and theology. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- BYU's Script TutorialBYU's paleography tutorial has been a key piece of the Center for Family History's online presence since its beginning in 2005. Work on each of the current languages has been progressing over the years and continues today, and the site will continue to add more languages over time.
- Medieval studies - Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Oxford music online This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive reference work for music in English, with continually updated content. Searches Grove Music Online initially; on search results pages, provides links to more results from The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Oxford University Press.
- UK National Archives PalaeographyPalaeography is the study of old handwriting. This web tutorial will help you learn to read the handwriting found in documents written in English between 1500 and 1800.
Additional resources
- Print Council of AmericaThe Print Council of America is a professional organization of print specialists with a current membership of over 300 individuals most of whom represent collections of works of art on paper throughout the United States and Canada. While the organization is comprised primarily of museum curators, it also includes university professors, conservators of works on paper, and independent scholars with a strong commitment to the study of prints.
- Rare Books and Manuscripts SectionThe official website of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS) of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). RBMS strives to represent and promote the interests of librarians who work with rare books, manuscripts, and other types of special collections.
- SHARPwebOnline home of the Society for the History of Authorship, Reading, and Publishing.
