Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to Microforms: Finding Microforms in OneSearch

indexes, microfim,microfiche

Not Your Typical Item Record

 

Searching OneSearch for Microforms 

 

Tips to understanding the records of non-typical items like microforms

  • The TITLE of a record can be that of an individual item or it can be a Series/Collection of items.  
  • The CALL#  may be blank in a microform record, in which case the item is probably going to be shelved alphabetically (i.e. newspapers).  The identifying information will be found elsewhere in the record.   

  • Most microform records have a LOCAL call number created internally upon its arrival.  You will seldom see a typical LOC call number representing these types of items.  You may however, see microfiche records with a SuDoc (government documents) or Dewey Decimal call number.  

  • Information found in the DESCRIPTION portion of OneSearch records can tell you whether an item is in microfilm (reel) or microfiche (sheet) format.  That format information will determine where each item is located within the microform collection area of the Reference Dept. (located on Jones 1st floor)

 

 

Accompanying Microform Paper Indexes

  • These volumes are located on the first floor of Jones Library at the end of the Reference Collection.
  • Indexes are labeled and shelved by the corresponding collection it references.
  • Please ask staff for assistance in locating indexes that pertain to the collection you are researching. 

         

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702