Databases - Industry information
Below you will find a few of the databases that the library subscribes to which provide industry information. This information may be in the form of reports or datasets.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete provides access to industry-related trade publications and industry profiles from a variety of sources.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Provides company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, and industry intelligence.
- IBISWorldBusiness reports in four categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, global industry research, and business environment. Industry reports for China are also included.
- SMA : sports market analytics This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources.
- Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to major publications and company information from Standard and Poor's.
Locating NAICS Codes
There are two governmental codes associated with American industry: the SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) and the NAICS (North American Industry Classification code). The SIC code is the older of the two codes. The NAICS code, adopted in 1997, is taking the place of the older SIC code. The NAICS code is the code used by the government to classify similar businesses together. This code can also be very useful for gathering information about a particular industry.
There are several ways you can locate the NAICS code for your industry. One way is to consult the NAICS Manual which is kept behind the information desk on 1st floor, Jones Library. The call number for the manual is Jones Info Desk HF1042 .N677x 1997. This manual contains an alphabetically listing of various industry activities and services. By using the manual, you can check the listing for the activit(ies) or service(s) that your business or industry provides. Along with descriptive information, you will find the NAICS code associated with that industry. Another way to locate your NAICS code is by going to the Census homepage at the following address: http://www.census.gov Here you will find the search box where you can search by keyword to locate the NAICS code for your industry.
Industry codes are also listed as part of the information you will find in databases such as Business & Company Resource Center, Mergent Online and LexisNexis Academic.
- U.S. Census - NAICSNAICS Information and code searching
- Logistics WorldLook at the top of the page for the "Tools" link. This will take users to the Reference Library page. Once on this page, select NAICS and SIC codes. Here you can browse by category, search by code or keyword or use the conversion tool to move between NAICS and SIC codes.
- NAICS Code lookupA NAICS Code illustrates the business activity of a company. There are 1,057 unique classified industries as of the latest NAICS 2017 revision.
- ISIC to NAICS conversionEnter a Keyword or ISIC Code in the search box above to find the corresponding NAICS Code.
In some instances, there are several NAICS codes that match to a single ISIC code. If you enter a keyword that yields no matches, it is because there were no ISIC codes with that description.
ISIC Industry Codes
