ISEC 5310: Cybersecurity Human Factors (Burns)

Business Source Complete is a great place to start research.  This resource contains information in many areas of business and contains both scholarly and general reader material.  

In Business Source Complete, the Advanced Search is the default option.  Once you open the database, enter your keywords into the search boxes.

Below the search boxes, are the filter options.  These options help to add or delete material that is not needed.

Once your search has been entered, click on the "Search" button located below the search boxes.

The next screen will display the results of your search.

• Access options will display any full text options available and the link for BU INfolinks
• Subject line displays terms used to define the article content and can be helpful as additional search terms

A new addition for select articles is the "Generate AI Insights" button.

Click on this button to access a list of A.I. generated highlights for an article.  These do not take the place of reading over the article yourself, but can give the reader valuable insight into the article when deciding to select it for deeper reading.

Computer Source is a good resource to search for information on a variety of computer-related topics.  One handy shortcut can enable searchers to save time and search multiple EBSCO databases at the same time.

The first step is to click on the Computer Source name located above the search boxes.  This will bring up a list of the library's EBSCO databases.  Check the box of the database(s) to be inlcuded  -- if we want to search Business Source Complete along with Computer Source, we just have to check that box.  Once all databases have been selected, click the SELECT button at the bottom of the page.

Next, enter search terms which describe what we are looking for:

Filters which can be used to refine the search are located below the search boxes.  Click on the Search button to perform the search and see the results.

Gartner is an amazing resource for information on computing and technology.  Users will need to login in and Duo authenticate whether they are on or off campus.  Once logged in, the search screen appears.  Enter any keywords to search the database.

Once search terms are entered, hit return ---  the next page will show results of the search.

Click on the title of an article to open and see the content.  Below the title are options for Save, Share, Download and Print

   At the end of the article are the "More on This Topic" and "Recommended by the Author" sections.  These contain more sources of information on the topic covered by the article.

INSPEC can be used to search for articles and reports on topics in engineering and computing.  Use the quick search to enter short search phrases or add additional search boxes for more complex search strategies.

Located to the left of the search boxes, INSPEC's filters can be used to help define a search.  Content types can be selected, date ranges defined, items can be excluded.

Once a search strategy is entered and the search performed, results can be viewed on the following page.  In the bar above the results are options for emailing selected items along with the option to print or download material.

The item record contains citation informationalong with

• Article Abstract
• Citation count for Scopus
• BU InfoLinks button which allows for Interlibrary Loan requests of article if no full text exists

The easiest way to access Scopus is by using the handy Scopus link located below the search box in  the Database section of the Library's homepage.

Click on the Scopus link  -- the next page will be the default opening page for Scopus.

Scopus is a great source of scholarly (peer-reviewed) material on numerous topics.  The default opening screen is for the "Documents" area.  This is where searches for articles are done.  This page also has options for the following searches:

• Author search - searches by author name for works done by the author.
• Researcher Discovery - allows researchers to find and connect with researchers from around the globe.
• Organization  - search by organization to locate authors/publications for that organization

This is the Documents section which allows for searching for articles on your topic.  In Scopus, multi-word search phrases should be contained within these brackets {  } so a phrase such as digital twins would be entered as {digital twins}    This tells the database to search for this as a phrase and not separate words.

A recent new addition to Scopus is the integration of Copilot into Scopus.  This is the link on the right side of the search bar.  Use this to begin investigating a topic, get help narrowing a topic, looking for niche areas of a topic or looking for more keywords for searches.  Click on the Scopus AI link.

Begin by typing what you want to learn more about into the box.  An account can be created to save your conversations.

Once your prompt is in the box, click on the arrow in the lower right corner to begin the process.  Unhide the Copilot steps.  This is where the keyword search process can be seen.  This can provide more keywords to be used when you search.

The Deep research option can be turned on and used with a search.  Be specific in the question that you ask Copilot in this feature.  This will take 2-5 minutes to run, depending on the question and gives a detailed report.

Below the steps of the process is the Summary.  Here Copilot summarizes what it has learned during its research.

Below this information is a section for delving into a specific area of this topic.

If a user wanted to learn more about the second point ( How do digital twins enhance threat detection in cybersecurity?), the user can click on this point and repeat the process for this topic.

The numbers listed beside the points in the summary correspond to articles in the reference list which is seen beside the summary information.  To see an article in the reference list, just click on its title.

Now that we have this information, our next step would be to go back to the Documents section and try searching for more information on our topic.

TechRxiv is a good place to look for those "unpublished" articles that have yet to make it into scholarly publications.  Material on topics in engineering, computing and technology can be search for here.

TechRxiv's search box is located below the "Public Documents" heading.  When typing in search terms, watch for the dialog box with the list of terms.  Click on the term which fits what is being searched for.

Once the search term is selected, the following screen will display materials for that topic.  Materials can be accessed by clicking on the title of the material.

The record for the material contains citation information, full text availability, information on views and downloads and an example citation.

These resources are where companies can be identified and industries investigated.