English 3315: Literary Editing & Publishing

Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references including Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary, the Britannica book of the year, and news articles from BBC News and The New York Times.

Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject. 

Provides online access to a significant number of books and reference works published by Gale. 

Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally.

Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture.

Provides authoritative biographies of deceased individuals who influenced British history, including colonial British-Americans. Biographies include a listing of major works written by the individual (if any) and a reference list of full-length biographies and critical articles. Each biography also includes a "Reputation" section which describes the individual's standing in his or her time period and how that has changed since then. Very helpfully will indicate where the individual's archives are, if they exist. Also provides links to major themed articles (on the American Founding Fathers, for instance), entries to related individuals, and to other online resources produced by Oxford University Press (which we may or may not have access to). Oxford University Press.

Covers Irish men and women from the earliest times until 2001, providing biographies and a sense of their influence on Irish history, culture, and life. 

Presents concise biographical articles on significant and representative persons in Australian history.

Contains biographies, criticisms and articles on literary authors and their works from throughout the world.

Indexes and provides full-text access to a variety of news and reference sources containing the biographies of individuals from all time periods. 

Enables users to search the various papers and documents contained in the University of Virginia’s Founding Era full-text documents to identify individuals and their connections. Prosopography is the study of groups of people (grouped by gender, occupation, birth year, and other key data points) to study the group itself, not just the individuals. This database enables users to identify connections, patterns, etc. through a keyword search, with limits for gender, birth/death year, occupation, religion, and geographical region to better enable such a prosopographical study. The data is less robust for women, slaves, and Native Americans due to the nature of the historical record, but is still useful for identifying patterns among these groups. References to the primary sources in the Founding Era documents (which Baylor also owns digitally) makes finding the context for the individual very easy. Interactive, visual graphs of connections are provided. Brief biographies are provided for all individuals and the data on each person is presented in the same way so that searches can be more effective. The People of the Founding Era is still a work in progress with information being added regularly.