What We Have
The Libraries has films, music, and spoken word recordings (audiobooks) in two basic forms:
- Streaming (online)
- on disc (CDs, DVDs, Blu-Ray discs)
This page will tell you how to find and use these items.
Films & Music on Disc
To find out if we have a film or documentary on disc, you can use OneSearch to search the title of the film, or to search for a specific actor or director.
From the Libraries' home page, click on the advanced search link:
Then search for the film name, actor, or director you are looking for using the examples below to limit your search to Video/Film:
Search for a film name change the material type to video/film:
Search for an actor or director by name, keep the material type as video/film:
Search for a musician, composer, or band by name, change the material type to sound recordings:
Streaming Sources
To search for our streaming video collections, use one of these databases:
- Academic video online This link opens in a new windowBrings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage. Alexander Street Press.
- Digital theatre plus This link opens in a new windowProvides high-definition recordings of top British theatre, music, and dance productions. A collection of interviews offers insights on acting, directing, design, and tech theatre. A collection of study guides details the context of performances, offers critical analysis of plays, and provides question and activity guides for students. Finally, a set of filmed and written teaching resources offers guides for teaching drama techniques and exercises. Primary Source. DIGITAL THEATRE.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowProvides streaming videos in multiple fields including Business, Fashion, Health & Medicine, History, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Political Science, Psychology, and Spirituality. Search by keyword or browse by subject/collection. Users can sign up for individual accounts and save playlists and edit clips. Runs on Flash and can be viewed on mobile devices.
- Naxos music library. This link opens in a new windowProvides streaming access to thousands of recordings from classical, jazz, and world music labels. Also includes supplemental text resources and ability to create playlists.
- Naxos music library. Jazz This link opens in a new windowProvides streaming access to thousands of recordings of styles of jazz and related musical forms.
- Naxos sheet music This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 45 000 titles of digital sheet music. Scores can be viewed and printed from the browser window. Advanced features, such as transposition and playback, are available by downloading and installing the free Online Sheet Music Viewer.
- Naxos spoken word library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to classical literature audiobooks and educational material, including novels, plays, and poetry from all periods. Entire library accessible through free apps for iPhone and iPad. See Spoken Word site for details.
- Swank digital campus This link opens in a new windowProvides access to 1000 of the top academic streaming videos and documentaries “solely for the purposes of research, teaching, and private study” (no public performance use). Simple search by film title, use advanced search for names of cast or director. Browse by title, release date, or category (documentary, war, sci-fi, etc.), includes some foreign language films. Links to films and documentaries may be copied and placed in Canvas to assign them for viewing by students. Registration for instructors required on first use (to gain additional functionality) and recommended for students for convenience.
If your book was published in 1924 or earlier, you might be able to find a free audio version of it on the Librivox site (link below). This is a project run by volunteers, so the reading quality might not be professional, but it is usually good.
- LibrivoxAudio versions of books published before 1924, read by volunteers.
