It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes articles from scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada only. Provides abstracts for most articles. Also includes book reviews in scholarly history journals but does not index book publications. Features: simple, advanced, and visual search features, and search alerts. The first place to look for scholarly literature on America and Canada. (N.B.: For the rest of the world, use Historical Abstracts). EBOSCOhost.
Indexes and provides abstracts to scholarly journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, books and book reviews in history for all countries except the United States and Canada (for the U.S. and Canada use America: History & Life). Since every subject has a history all subjects are covered, from accounting and biology to warfare and zoology, not just traditional "history.", Includes research on eras from prehistory to the present. Basic, advanced, and visual search features, limits by time period, country, year of publication of article, language of publication, in addition to subject, author, keyword, etc. EBSCO.
Specialized indexes to scholarly articles in history
Indexes popular and scholarly journal articles, essays, indigenous/First People's newspapers, books, and book reviews on all aspects of indigenous people of North America. Contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Covers history, biography, anthropology, politics, literature, governance, gaming, culture, archaeology, and many other fields. Searchable fields include author, title, abstract, keyword, people, company, geographic terms, and publication. EBSCOhost.
Contains over 700 000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia and published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Includes citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and festschriften, etc. Selected journals have retrospective indexing back to 1779. Users can search, browse by journal title or country-subject.
Indexes scholarly writing by historians on the British Isles, the British Empire, and the British Commonwealth. Covers the historical period from 55 B.C.E. to the present, including books, journal articles, and essays. Search by subject, geographical region, personal name, and limit to historical period or year of publication.
Provides access to an electronically searchable international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, covering history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literatures of Islamica. Includes materials published by Western orientalists, social scientists, and Muslims writing in European languages. Useful to, researchers of Islam and Islamic civilizations, Arabic studies, Middle Eastern civilizations, Jewish studies, and Philosophy. Coverage: 1906 - present. Search options are basic, does not include a scholarly journals filter or scripture search feature. Some full text accessibility. Does not include abstracts.EBSCOhost.
Indexes research on the middle ages and renaissance (400 - 1700) in journals, books, conference papers, catalogs, discographies, and dissertations. An essential resource, international in scope. Coverage for journals dates back to 1784, for books to 1931. Includes access to books in the series: Other voice in early modern Europe: Toronto series. The "Basic Search" is by keyword, but "Advanced Search" allows for limits by author, title, subject and Dewey and LC call numbers. Advanced Search also permits limits by language and type of work (bibliography, review article, thesis, etc.). Supports Zotero and RefWorks. University of Toronto.
Draws on diverse publications (books, media, scholarly/popular/news articles, and images) to provide information on both military and popular topics. Default response is to scholarly and academic sources. Search by keyword, subject, author, etc. with limiters by date, full-text, scholarly, and document type (image, case study, aerial photography, etc.). Materials primarily come from publications by all branches of the military service, trade journals for the defense industry, and scholarly journals in all subjects, as well as popular titles for the general public. Gale/InfoTrac.