Searching the Catalog
Searching the catalog for historical monographs
Use the advanced search screen in OneSearch and choose "Library Catalog" at the top of the screen. It gives you ways to search by title or by keywords. You can also limit your "material type" to books. Once you find a book on your topic, look at the subject headings assigned to it to click through and find other books with the same subject. (See subject headings below...)
Using the "Browse" feature to explore subject headings
You can use the "Browse" feature of OneSearch to look through Library of Congress Subject Headings to find books with the same subject headings. Choose "Browse by Library of Congress Subjects" and search fairly broadly at first. You will be able to scroll through more narrowly defined headings as you go.
Using Bibliographies
- Cambridge histories This link opens in a new windowProvides online, searchable access to the well-known Cambridge History series. This series provides excellent essays on all aspects of history from classical to medieval to modern, including histories of science, religion, language, economics, the book, publishing, theater, literature, warfare, music, philosophy, politics, and regional studies. Scholarly, authoritative, includes bibliographies for further study. Cambridge University Press.
Oxford Bibliographies
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
- Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences. Each subject module includes a full set of entries (written by scholars in the field) covering a range of topics from general overviews to highly-specialized themes.
- African American studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African-American culture, history, and society. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- African studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African culture, history, and society. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Atlantic history - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the transnational interconnections between Europe, North America, South America, and Africa, particularly in the early modern and colonial period. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Chinese studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Chinese culture history, and society. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Latin American studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latin American studies. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Latino studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latino studies and the Hispanic minority in the United States. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Medieval studies - Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Military history - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on military history. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Renaissance and Reformation - Oxford bibliographies. This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Book reception/criticism
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowSearch OneSearch for your book title to find reviews on it as well.
- Book review digest plus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to book reviews on a wide range of topics from a variety of sources.
- Book review digest retrospective : 1908-1982 This link opens in a new window
Provides book review citations and book review exerpts from 1903 to 1982 covering adult and juvenile fiction and nonfiction.
- H-Net ReviewsH-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences is an online scholarly review resource that has been publishing reviews since 1993.
