It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Who was the first African-American senator? Who was the first woman to cast a vote in the New World? Have any gays or lesbians held state-wide office? Was 2000 a good year for women and minority office seekers? The answers to these questions are here in The Almanac of Women and Minorities in American Politics 2002. The culmination of Mart Martin's years of diligent research, this is the first comprehensive single-volume reference to all women, African-Americans, Hispanics, Asian-Americans, native minorities, gays, and lesbians who have served in state or national elected positions, with additional information on local elected positions. This valuable resource provides a complete, non-partisan reference on the "political" accomplishments of these people, as opposed to taking a "biographical" approach. In this volume, Mart Martin details which women and minority candidates succeeded in being elected or appointed in 2000 at the federal and state levels throughout the United States. This 2002 edition is thoroughly updated in each of the major content sections on Women, African-Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans Native Minorities, and Gay and Lesbians.
The essential Black History reference set for the 21st century, THE REFERENCE LIBRARY OF BLACK AMERICA is the complete source of information on African-Americans. Just a few of the major areas covered in this five volume series are chronology, inventors & scientists, women, music, sports, media, military, organizations, law, literature, significant documents, landmarks & a great deal more. Each volume also contains African-American award recipients, guide to Black colleges, extensive bibliography & a volume-specific cumulative index. Aimed at middle & high schools, this outstanding series also offers a wealth of material for colleges & as a teacher resource guide. FREE 60 DAY PREVIEWS. DEDUCT 20% FOR PRE-PAID ORDERS. Order from: American Multi-Cultural Publications, 702 Cedar Lane, Hamilton, NJ, 08610, 609-777-5444; Fax: 609-777-9500; Internet: www.amcbooks.com; other series available; "REFERENCE LIBRARY OF ASIAN AMERICA" 3 vol., $149.50; "REFERENCE LIBRARY OF HISPANIC AMERICA" 3 vol., $149.50; "REFERENCE LIBRARY OF EUROPEAN AMERICA" 4 vol., $179.50 & "REFERENCE LIBRARY OF NATIVE NORTH AMERICA" 4 vol., $179.50. ALL TITLES UNCONDITIONALLY GUARANTEED.
Ninety years after W.E.B. Du Bois first articulated the need for "the equivalent of a black Encyclopedia Britannica," Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates Jr., realized his vision by publishing Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience in 1999.This new, greatly expanded edition of the original work broadens the foundation provided by Africana. Including more than one million new words, Africana has been completely updated and revised. New entries on African kingdoms have been added, bibliographies now accompany most articles, and theencyclopedia's coverage of the African diaspora in Latin America and the Caribbean has been expanded, transforming the set into the most authoritative research and scholarly reference set on the African experience ever created.More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic. African American history and culture in the present-day United States receive astrong emphasis, but African American history and culture throughout the rest of the Americas and their origins in African itself have an equally strong presence. The articles that make up Africana cover subjects ranging from affirmative action to zydeco and span over four million years from theearlies-known hominids , to Sean "Diddy" Combs. With entries ranging from the African ethnic groups to members of the Congressional Black Caucus, Africana, Second Edition, conveys the history and scope of cultural expression of people of African descent with unprecedented depth.
Covering 46 poets from more than two centuries of African American literary history, this biocritical dictionary is an important contribution to any reference collection. The poets are situated within their historical and literary context, and for each a brief biographical sketch is given, with information on the poet's personal history, education, influences, and accomplishments. Each entry examines the poet's work as a whole, with a discussion of selected important poems and their recurrent themes. Students and interested readers will gain a good appreciation for the stylistic features and artistic contributions made by these African American poets. For further research, each essay concludes with a list of the poet's published book-length works, anthologies where their poetry appears, and information on reference resources. This reference work is introduced with an insightful overview of the significant developments and contributions in African American poetry, from the 18th century poetry of Phillis Wheatley, through the major arts movements including the Harlem Renaissance and the Black Arts Movements of the 1960s, up to the present time. This thoughtful dictionary explores both the aesthetic and the social functions of the literary movements, as well as the individual poet's contributions to the body of poetic output. Covered here are numerous contemporary African American voices such as Maya Angelou, Yusef Komunyakaa, and Rita Dove. Alongside the names synonymous with the Harlem Renaissance, such as Gwendolyn Brooks and Langston Hughes, are lesser known poets about whom students often have trouble finding information but whose contributions are no less significant.
This book provides both a comprehensive cross-reference to modern Afro-American short stories published from 1950-1982 and an analysis and commentary on modern short fiction. Over 850 stories written by approximately 300 authors are indexed. It also provides an extensive guide to many of the stories published in anthologies, collections, and periodicals during this period. Part I, the Chronology, lists the stories by year of publication and alphabetically by title within each year. An index code, which cross-references the Chronology to the author and title indexes, precedes each story. The author, the point of view, a description, and all of the known sources for the story are given. Part II lists, in standard bibliographical format, the anthologies and collections in which the stories appear and lists each story in the anthologies/collections. Part III consists of approximately 100 analyses/commentaries/critiques of selected stories in accordance with traditional literary genres: comedy, epic, tragedy, tragi-comedy, and unresolved struggle, as well as generally accepted types of Afro-American literature: celebrative-commemorative, militant, protest, personal experience, and universal concerns. Title and author indexes complete the book.
This work provides a wealth of information on obscure and overlooked American playwrights as well as some famous ones; it will be a welcome addition for collections specializing in the theater arts. Reference Books Bulletin This directory and index, the first such volume devoted exclusively to contemporary black American dramatists, will have an important place in theatre collections. It captures and preserves an elusive part of artistic endeavor, giving access to literally thousands of dramatic works that would otherwise be lost to scholars and the public. Organized as an encyclopedia, it provides information on more than 600 noteworthy Black American playwrights whose plays have been written, produced, or published between 1950 and the present. The volume begins with an introductory essay surveying the history of contemporary black American drama. Playwrights, screenwriters, radio and television scriptwriters, and musical theatre collaborators are treated in individual entries that comprise the bulk of the book. The volume also supplies a bibliography of anthologies, books, and periodicals cited; mailing addresses for more than 200 of the playwrights; and title and subject indexes.
This second edition is an expansion of the 1996 classic and its 2000 supplement. Whereas the first edition focused almost exclusively on the United States, this new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges, and promise of the 150 million people of African descent who live in North America, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. It is an authoritative and comprehensive information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas now have a defining and current reference.
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brownruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts, making this five-volume set the most reliable and extensive treatmentto be found on African American history in the twentieth century. The set also contains 500 images and roughly 640 biographies, as well as an entry on each of the fifty states. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of African Americans, the Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figureswho affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general. Unrivalled in breadth and scope, this is the preeminent source of information on this topic and is destined to become a trusted reference source for years to come.
Preceded by three introductory essays and a chronology of major events in black religious history from 1618 to 1991, this A-Z encyclopedia includes three types of entries: * Biographical sketches of 773 African American religious leaders * 341 entries on African American denominations and religious organizations (including white churches with significant black memberships and educational institutions) * Topical articles on important aspects of African American religious life (e.g., African American Christians during the Colonial Era, Music in the African American Church)
Blacks have played a significant part in European civilization since ancient times. This encyclopedia illuminates blacks in European history, literature, and popular culture. It emphasizes the considerable scope of black influence in, and contributions to, European culture. The first blacks arrived in Europe as slaves and later as laborers and soldiers, and black immigrants today along with others are transforming Europe into multicultural states. This indispensable set expands our knowledge of blacks in Western civilization. More than 350 essay entries introduce students and other readers to the white European response to blacks in their countries, the black experiences and impact there, and the major interactions between Europe and Africa, the Caribbean, and the United States that resulted in the settling of blacks in Europe. The range of information presented is impressive, with entries on noted European political, literary, and cultural figures of black descent from ancient times to the present, major literary works that had a substantial impact on European perceptions of blacks, black holidays and festivals, the struggle for civil equality for blacks, the role and influence of blacks in contemporary European popular culture, black immigration to Europe, black European identity, and much more. Offered as well are entries on organizations that contributed to the development of black political and social rights in Europe, representations of blacks in European art and cultural symbols, and European intellectual and scientific theories on blacks. Individual entries on Britain, Spain, Portugal, France, Italy, Germany, the Netherlands, Russia, Central Europe, Scandinavia, and Eastern Europe include historical overviews of the presence and contributions of blacks and discussion of country's role in the African slave trade and abolition and its colonies in Africa and the Caribbean. Suggestions for further reading accompany each entry. A chronology, resource guide, and photos complement the text.
From the music of Louis Armstrong to the portraits by Beauford Delaney, the writings of Langston Hughes to the debut of the musical Show Boat, the Harlem Renaissance is one of the most significant developments in African-American history in the twentieth century. The Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance, in two-volumes and over 635 entries, is the first comprehensive compilation of information on all aspects of this creative, dynamic period. For a full list of entries, contributors, and more, visit the Encyclopedi a of Harlem Renaissance website.
The essential Black History reference set for the 21st century, THE REFERENCE LIBRARY OF BLACK AMERICA is the complete source of information on African-Americans. Just a few of the major areas covered in this five volume series are chronology, inventors & scientists, women, music, sports, media, military, organizations, law, literature, significant documents, landmarks & a great deal more. Each volume also contains African-American award recipients, guide to Black colleges, extensive bibliography & a volume-specific cumulative index. Aimed at middle & high schools, this outstanding series also offers a wealth of material for colleges & as a teacher resource guide.