Where to search:
-
Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed works in 254 disciplines. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly works in 240 disciplines from over 7000 publishers. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
-
Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and abstracts for journals in all academic subjects.
-
Environment complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly publications in environmental science including ecosystem ecology,environmental law, environmental technology, marine and freshwater science, renewable energy resources and more
Searching with your concepts
Once we know our PEO question and have done some term harvesting, we can start to look for evidence in the databases.
Conveniently, PEO breaks up our question into searchable concepts. We can use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine concepts together for our search. These are the operators that tell the database what terms to search for, and how to search for them.
For our current research question, we will combine our terms for each concept together with OR, then combine each of those concepts together with AND.
Boolean Operators
Boolean Operators tell the database how to search for your terms: 
