MH 4391: Health Disparities

BrowZine is a mobile app for tablets and smartphones, as well as for desktops and laptops, that allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface. With BrowZine, you can:

• Read Scholarly journals in a format that is optimized for tablets.
• Create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals.
• Be alerted when new issues of a journal are available.
• Bookmark articles for reading later.
• Easily save to Refworks, Zotero, Dropbox, or Mendeley.

Creating an account once you're in BrowZine is easy!

1. Click "My Bookshelf" OR "My Articles" at the top left of the screen once you are in BrowZine.
2. Click "Sign Up."

Once you've created an account you will see your email address in the upper right corner and you'll have the ability to create collections and bookshelves (through "My Account" and "My Bookshelves.").

 LibKey Nomad is a browser extension originally available only in Chrome but now available for Edge, Vivaldi, and Brave! (in the Chrome Store for all 4 browsers) and under development for Firefox. It enables you to access academic articles quickly and easily. 

You can download Libkey Nomad here

Once installed and configured by the user (a one-time set up during which the user identifies the institution with which they are affiliated), this extension will provide off-campus access to the full text of journal articles available to Baylor – without having to go through the library website or a library resource. In other words, researchers can search Google Scholar, click through to the publisher’s site, and the extension (using the access rights information Baylor provides to BrowZine) will indicate that the researcher can access the full text. Once they click on the LibKey icon, they will be authenticated through EZproxy and gain access to the article. 

Unlike searching in Google, you cannot use free text searching in databases or OneSearch. Your searches will be more effective if you break up your research questions into concepts. For example, if you are researching how the effects of redlining and segregation effect health and healthcare today, you would break your question up into redlining; segregation; health; and healthcare. 

Many of the databases are designed to help you input your concepts in a way that will accurately communicate your question with the database, therefore giving you the best results. In the below example, I am combining redlining and segregation with OR, and health and healthcare with OR in parentheses in two separate search boxes because I want the database to find articles with either redlining and health; redlining and healthcare; segregation and health; or segregation and healthcare as their topic areas. Once I click "search" I can refine my results based on date, type of article, or subject area in the "Refine Results" box on the left side of the page.