Introduction to OneSearch
To find books and articles that were written by your prominent figure, use Advanced OneSearch.
In OneSearch you can:
- Do an Author/Creator search for your figure with the format "last name, first name" to find resources written by your prominent figure.
- Switch to a title search with your prominent figure's name to find materials that are about your prominent figure.
- Specify your search by combining an author search and a keyword search.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally.
How to search on a topic in OneSearch
If you are researching a topic for your biographical assignment, you can search OneSearch in much the same way. This is also a chance for you to utilize boolean operators.
Interviews (Newspaper search)
- Access world news This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news publications from across the world, including major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles.
- Newspaper source plus This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources for researching news, business, industry, and legal topics.
National Biographies (Deceased Individuals)
- American national biography online This link opens in a new window
Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture.
- Australian dictionary of biography This link opens in a new window
Presents concise biographical articles on significant and representative persons in Australian history.
- Dictionary of Irish biography This link opens in a new window
Covers Irish men and women from the earliest times until 2001, providing biographies and a sense of their influence on Irish history, culture, and life.
- Oxford dictionary of national biography This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative biographies of deceased individuals who influenced British history, including colonial British-Americans. Biographies include a listing of major works written by the individual (if any) and a reference list of full-length biographies and critical articles. Each biography also includes a "Reputation" section which describes the individual's standing in his or her time period and how that has changed since then. Very helpfully will indicate where the individual's archives are, if they exist. Also provides links to major themed articles (on the American Founding Fathers, for instance), entries to related individuals, and to other online resources produced by Oxford University Press (which we may or may not have access to). Oxford University Press.
Reference Resources
- Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to a significant number of books and reference works published by Gale.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History This link opens in a new windowover 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies
- Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences. Each subject module includes a full set of entries (written by scholars in the field) covering a range of topics from general overviews to highly-specialized themes.
