Director of the Liaison Program
Research & Engagement
Research Resources for Mass Communication
- Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for the core journals in the fields of communication studies, journalism and mass communication as well as non-core journals in additional fields which extend the resource to include the growing interdisciplinary nature of the field.
- Gale OneFile Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 250 journals from the fields of communication and mass media. This collection is part of the larger Academic OneFile database. Gale Cengage.
Research Resources for Gender & Race
- Gale OneFile Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides a collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format covering gay and lesbian studies, intended primarily for academic researchers.
- Race relations abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Ethnic newswatch This link opens in a new window
Indexes the newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals published by, about, and for ethnic, minority, and native peoples.
Research Resources for different types of media
- Film & television literature index with full text This link opens in a new windowIndexes all types of writing about television and film, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals. Subjects covered include film & television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes major academic film journals, international film publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Cinema in India, Cinemaya, Filmkultura, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio, and the full text of Variety Movie Reviews back to 1920.
- Performing arts periodicals database This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from around 400 scholarly and popular periodicals, as well as some books. Includes reviews, biographical profiles, obituaries, interviews, and more.
Book resources
The Oxford Handbook of Media Psychology by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 0195398807Publication Date: 2012It is indisputable that media is by far the most common means by which human beings spend our free time in the modern world. However, the ubiquity of media in our lives brings with it advantages and disadvantages along with uncertainty: will increased dependence on media impair our socialfunctioning, enhance it, or both?The Oxford Handbook of Media Psychology explores facets of human behavior, thoughts, and feelings experienced in the context of media use and creation. Divided into six sections, chapters in this volume trace the history of media psychology; address content areas for media research, includingchildren's media use, media violence and desensitization, sexual content, video game violence, and portrayals of race and gender; and cover psychological and physical effects of media such as serious games, games for health, technology addictions, and video games and attention.A section on meta-issues in media psychology brings together transportation theory, media psychophysiology, social influence in virtual worlds, and learning through persuasion. Other topics include the politics of media psychology, a lively debate about the future of media psychology methods, andthe challenges and opportunities present in this interdisciplinary field.Authored by top experts from psychology, communications, and related fields, this handbook presents a vibrant map of the field of media psychology.
