The Top Five
The five resources listed here will be your "go-to" resources or tools for researching and finding out about American history/women's history. Clicking on the name will take you to the resource; to find out more about each one, use the "tips & hints" link under one.
- America: history and life This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and peer reviewed articles on the history of the United States and Canada.
- American National Biography (online)Biographical dictionary of about 17,500 notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive. Includes illustrations and hypertext links to other web resources. Remember, also, that many women and minorities would not have been "notable" enough in their time to have records ANB can draw on.
PRINT VERSION: American National Biography, 24 vols. - JONES REF. - CT213 .A68 1999 - Women & Social Movements in the US, 1600 - 2000Contains over 110 document projects and archives (most uniquely available in WSM only) with 4 – 6 new projects/archives being added annually; over 2600 primary source resources, including the proceedings of women’s abolitionist movements and women’s rights conventions prior to 1866; and full-text coverage of the scholarly journal Women and Social Movements in the United States which covers all eras of American women’s history.
- American Memory: Women's History CollectionsAccess to seven collections from the Library of Congress including pamphlets, broadsides, books, and photographs from 1600 – 2000; includes highlights from the Library of Congress’ Manuscripts Division on women’s history.
- Bibliography of Native North AmericansCovers research on Native North American culture, history, and life from the 16th century to the present.
Research Support Tools
The tools listed here will make your research and writing much easier. Zotero and RefWorks, especially, are the kind of resources that students say "where was this when I was doing my paper last term!"
- Research Paper PlannerNeed help staying on schedule with that research paper? The Research Paper Planner will help you stay on track and will point you to resources that can help you in the writing process.
- EBSCOHost Search AlertsInstructions for setting up a search alert in EBSCOHost databases like America: History & Life.
A search alert will run the same search every day, week, or month and automatically send you the results so you don't have to start from scratch every time. Very useful. Just make sure you have a successful search - you can make an appointment with me to review how to create a successful search. - Zotero Guide for Baylor UniversityOur research guide for using the free Firefox add in to collect and manage your sources and format your citations and bibliography
- RefWorks 2.0This is the page on RefWorks - another citation manager you may want to use.
- How to Recognize the Difference Between Popular, Trade and Scholarly JournalsIncludes a list of criteria that can be used to distinguish between popular magazines, trade magazines and scholarly journals.
Women's Careers, c. 1920
Below is an advertisement for a book on women's career options c. 1920, taken from the American Memory Collection at the Library of Congress.
Subject Guide
Laura Semrau
Contact:
laura_semrau@baylor.edu
Office: J112
Office: J112
P: (254) 710-6397
Subjects: African History, American History, American Literature, Arabic & Middle East Studies, Asian History, Australasian History, British Literature, Chinese, French, German, History, Italian, Latin & South American History, Linguistics, Literature, Modern Languages & Cultures, Portuguese, Professional Writing & Rhetoric, Russian, Spanish, UK & European History
