It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides access to the electronic version of the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Articles can be browsed alphabetically or by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full-text entries can be searched by keyword, contributor, or bibliography. Self-touted as "the definitive (philosophical reference) resource in the field " this is an important, reasonably current subject specialist philosophical encyclopedia. Of obvious relevance to students of philosophy, this work is also valuable for researchers in systematic theology or philosophical theology.
Provides access to a web-based subject specialist encyclopedia of philosophy. This resource is a "dynamic reference work" that is under ongoing revision, updating and expansion. A scholarly reference work, this resource is worth consulting by a range of researchers including philosophy students, students of the history of ideas, religious and theological researchers. Covers all areas of philosophy.
Provides online, searchable access to the well-known Cambridge History series. This series provides excellent essays on all aspects of history from classical to medieval to modern, including histories of science, religion, language, economics, the book, publishing, theater, literature, warfare, music, philosophy, politics, and regional studies. Scholarly, authoritative; includes bibliographies for further study. For GTX 2302 the most useful volumes are the "General Histories," esp. "The Cambridge Ancient History" (19 volumes), "The New Cambridge Medieval History" (8 vols.), and "The Cambridge History of the Byzantine Empire" (13 vols.).
The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers thousands of comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers. For the author Companions, each writer is placed in literary and historical context; their major works are analysed, either in separate chapters or grouped according to theme, and their influence on later writers assessed.Series includes individual authors (Chretien de Troyes, Abelard, Machiavelli), and to themes and literary types (allegory, medieval English literature, medieval English theatre, medieval French literature, medieval romance, medieval women's writing).
"Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects."I have selected the Oxford Bibliography for Medieval Studies, but there are many others that might be useful for other classes you will take while at Baylor.
Substantial entries on Augustine and his writings. Entries include information on English translations of Augustine's works and bibliographies of further reading.
Research Support Tools
The tools listed here will make your research and writing much easier. Zotero and RefWorks, especially, are the kind of resources that students say "where was this when I was doing my paper last term!"
Instructions for setting up a search alert in EBSCOHost databases like America: History & Life. A search alert will run the same search every day, week, or month and automatically send you the results so you don't have to start from scratch every time. Very useful. Just make sure you have a successful search - you can make an appointment with me to review how to create a successful search.