It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GER 4320: Beauty and the Virtues
This is the library research guide for the German Special Topics Class
Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally. Can limit by year, type of material, and other factors. OCLC FirstSearch.
Provides access to a German language index to largely German articles, books, and essays on historical subjects from all time periods. Publications indexed have publication dates from 1990 - 2010. Must enter search terms in German. Limits by time period, person, place (Erwaehnte Orte), title, and author. Allows Boolean and/or (und/oder) searching. Provides detailed coverage for Europe, Classical Rome and Greece, Egypt, Byzantium, Russia, Scandinavia, and the British Isles from pre-history to the present. Very good coverage of Asia, Africa, the Americas, Australia, and the Pacific Islands. Provides email and institutional links for authors indexed. Oldenborug Verlag.
Databases in multiple languages (including German)
Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. For access to the scholarly journal literature of Philosophy, this index is the most important available. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. Most useful for researchers of philosophical topics, this resource is also worth consulting for researchers in systematic theology (e.g. Augustinian studies, Scholastic theology, Barthian studies), apologetics and philosophical theology, religious ethics/moral theology, and western intellectual history. Contains some full text. Comparatively limited (but effective) search features: does not have a scholarly journals limiter but does provide document type and linked full-text limiters, as well as a publication search feature (enabling searches within the contents of specified journal titles). EBSCOhost.
Indexes comprehensively scholarly and non-scholarly journals in religion and theology. This resource is a definite "must consult" for those undertaking bibliographic research in Christian religious studies. One of the oldest continuing indexes of religious journal literature, its retrospective journal coverage goes back as far as 1949 and in some cases to the 19th century. The breadth and depth of its coverage renders this index extremely versatile. Its content and search features make it relevant for research in a number of religion specific areas including Biblical Studies, Church history, Systematic Theology, Philosophical Theology, and Ministry studies, as well as denomination specific research. Full-text access is frequently available. Abstracting is spare, but does appear in the occasional record. EBSCOhost.
Provides a subject, author, and title index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. MLA indexers review books, journals, and Web sites for material that relates to all forms of human communication. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. EBSCOhost.
Provides full-text coverage to over 600 full-text journals, over 200 full-text books, and over 60 000 images in art and architecture from 1929-present. Combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete. Includes indexing and abstracts for several hundred journals and books. Includes collection of thousands of images. EBSCOhost.
OneSearch is a discovery resource that replaces BearCat and provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
, - traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
, - the Baylor Digital Collections;
, - BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
, - research guides;
, - and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.