Director of the Liaison Program
Research & Engagement
Research Databases
Use these resources to find articles and book chapters about the filmmakers.
- Film & television literature index with full text This link opens in a new windowIndexes all types of writing about television and film, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals. Subjects covered include film & television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes major academic film journals, international film publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Cinema in India, Cinemaya, Filmkultura, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio, and the full text of Variety Movie Reviews back to 1920
- Performing Arts Database (Online)Content from more than 240 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events.PAD covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, opera, etc.
- Essay & general literature index This link opens in a new window
Indexes essays and chapters in single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. It includes publications from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain, covering 1985 to the present date.
- Essay and general literature retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes essays and chapters in single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. It includes publications from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain, covering 1900 through 1984.
- Advanced OneSearchTo search for books on your filmmaker, use the advanced search in OneSearch, pick "Library Catalog," choose "Subject" from the drop down menu, and put "Lastname, Firstname" into the search field.
Society for Cinema & Media Studies: Respected Journals
![[242/365] Yonin no samurai](https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5184/5681034598_77738c622d_n.jpg)
These lists link to the journals at their publisher sites. It is possible that if you click through to them while on campus, you may be granted access - it depends on whether we subscribe and whether the publisher site auto-detects your IP address. If, however, you are having trouble getting access to the articles, you can do the following:
1) Search for the journal's title in OneSearch, where you will be able to see whether we have subscribed and find info about either online or print access.
2) If we don't have either online or print access to the journal, you can request the article you are looking for through Osofast, our inter-library loan service.
3) When in doubt or despair, email your librarian - Ellen Filgo - together we'll figure something out!
Streaming Video
Streaming video resources available at Baylor
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowProvides streaming videos in multiple fields including Business, Fashion, Health & Medicine, History, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Political Science, Psychology, and Spirituality. Search by keyword or browse by subject/collection. Users can sign up for individual accounts and save playlists and edit clips. Runs on Flash and can be viewed on mobile devices.
