Director of the Liaison Program
Research & Engagement
Background Information
- Communication - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of communication as a multidisciplinary effort to understand the constant, varied, and complex transmission and exchange of information, knowledge, and ideas. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Good bibliographies to look at:
- Family Communication
- Multicultural Families
- Intergenerational Communication
- Death, Dying and Communication
- Developmental Communication
Handbook of Family Communication by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 1410609561Publication Date: 2003-12-08The Routledge Handbook of Family Communication offers a comprehensive exploration and discussion of current research and theory on family interaction. Integrating the varying perspectives and issues addressed by family researchers, theorists, and practitioners, this volume offers a unique and timely view of family interaction and family relationships. With a synthesis of research on issues key to understanding family interaction, as well as an analysis of many theoretical and methodological choices made by researchers studying family communication, Family Communicationserves to advance the field by reframing old questions and stimulating new ones. The contents are comprised of chapters covering: -Theoretical and methodological issues influencing current conceptions of family -Research and theory centering around the family life course -Communication occurring in a variety of family forms -Individual family members and their relationships -Dynamic communication processes taking place in families -Family communication embedded in social, cultural, and physical contexts Highlighting the work of scholars across disciplines--communication, social psychology, clinical psychology, sociology, family studies, and others--this volume captures the breadth and depth of research on family communication and family relationships. It will be of great value to researchers, theorists, and practitioners focusing on family interaction and family relationships, and also serve as a text for graduate-level coursework in family studies, family communication, relational communication, and related areas.
Research Databases
- Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for the core journals in the fields of communication studies, journalism and mass communication as well as non-core journals in additional fields which extend the resource to include the growing interdisciplinary nature of the field.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
- Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
