Director of the Armstrong Browning Library
One Bear Place #97152
710 Speight Avenue
Waco, Texas 76798-7152
Kress Collection
The Kress Collection encompasses more than 3,000 works of European art, and is distinguished for its abundance of Italian Renaissance paintings. The Collection was donated to scores of regional and academic art museums throughout the United States between 1929 and 1961, with the single largest donation reserved for the National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C.
You may browse the Collection via a map of the United States or by artist or repository.
The Samuel H. Kress Foundation devotes its resources to advancing the history, conservation, and enjoyment of the vast heritage of European art, architecture, and archaeology from antiquity to the early 19th century. More information from Foundation website.
Guided by a dual purpose – a sense of the public responsibility imposed upon great wealth, and a belief in the moral force of great art – Samuel H. Kress and the Kress Foundation created between 1929 and 1961 a series of unprecedented programs to share the artistic legacy of Europe with the American people.
More information on the history of the collection from Kress Foundation website.
From 1964 -1977, the Kress Foundation sponsored the publication of a scholarly Complete Catalogue of the Samuel H. Kress Collection, published on behalf of the Foundation. These nine illustrated volumes are written by leading art historians and remain authoritative scholarship on the works in the Collection. Each volume available in PDF from site.
Presentations in front of the Paintings
Kress Paintings in the ABL
Christ, the Man of Sorrows :: c. 1540 Artist: Giampietrino (Giovanni Padrino) Repository: Armstrong Browning Library, Baylor University, Waco, TX
Madonna and Child :: 1350-1400 Artist: Pietro Lorenzetti, Follower of Repository: Armstrong Browning Library, Baylor University, Waco, TX
Madonna and Child with St. John the Baptist and Three Angels :: c. 1560 Artist: Andrea del Sarto, after Repository: Armstrong Browning Library, Baylor University, Waco, TX
The Holy Family with the Infant St. John :: c. 1600 Artist: Parmese School Repository: Armstrong Browning Library, Baylor University, Waco, TX
Landscape with Bridge :: c. 1720 Artist: Francesco Zuccarelli Repository: Armstrong Browning Library, Baylor University, Waco, TX
Associate Dean for Research & Engagement / Librarian for Art and Theatre
Important Links
Online Access to Art Resources
Access many of the online resources for art including journal articles, image databases, online books, dissertations, etc. available through the Baylor Libraries.
OneSearch is a quick, easy way to search almost all Baylor Libraries resources at once, including the catalog, Baylor's Digital Collections, and most of the content found in our many research databases.
