About this Page
Open Access
Resources listed on this page will help social work students transition to practitioners in the field of Social Work. These resources do not require a "Bear ID" to access. "Open Access" refers to freely-available resources.
Systematic Reviews Library Guide
Databases
- Google scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- Measures Inventory Tool"The CMS Measure Inventory Tool (CMIT) is the repository of record for information about the measures which CMS uses to promote healthcare quality and quality improvement. CMS and its partners use this measure inventory to inform stakeholders, to manage its measure portfolio, and to guide measure development." -- Center for Medicaid & Medicare Services
- Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsA resource for systematic reviews in health care.
Protocols
- PRISMA"PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomized trials, but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions."
Government Websites
- SAMHSA Evidence-Based Practices Resource Centerprovides evidence-based practice information, protocols, toolkits, resource guides, clinical practice guidelines, and other science-based resources
- ClinicalTrials.govProvides public access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions. The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), through its National Library of Medicine (NLM), has developed this site in collaboration with all NIH Institutes and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
- Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ)Research arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- Guidelines and Measures"AHRQ is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions." -- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Organizations & Evidence Based Practice (EBP) Databases
- Social Work Policy InstituteThe Social Work Policy Institute examines issues that relate to the work of social workers, including how to serve people who have multiple or complex needs and how public agencies and other structures deliver health and human services.
A few examples from SWPI's list:
- The Campbell CollaborationAn international research network which publishes systematic reviews of social and economic interventions around the world.
- The Campbell Library of Systematic ReviewsBrowseable list of systematic reviews.
- Cochrane CommunityA global network of researchers, health professionals, etc., that promote evidence-informed health decision-making by producing high-quality, relevant, accessible systematic reviews and other synthesized research evidence.
- The Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide)Provides a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF).
- EBP Substance Abuse DatabaseA database of evidence-based interventions for treating substance use disorders.
- BMJ Best PracticeFree and subscription-based content from BMJ
- Social Programs that Work"This site focuses on the results of well-conducted randomized controlled trials (RCTs), which are widely regarded as the strongest method of evaluating program effectiveness."
- Centre for Evidence and ImplementationAn organization of research, policy and practice experts based in Australia, Singapore, and the United Kingdom, that works on developing methods and processes to put the evidence into practice. They trial, test and evaluate policies and programs to drive more effective decisions and deliver better outcomes.
- Centre for Evidence-Based MedicineAn organization that develops, promotes and disseminates better evidence for healthcare.
- Coalition for Evidence-Based PolicyThe Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy has been integrated into the Laura and John Arnold Foundation.
