Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music - Rare Sacred Music

Collections housed in the Arts and Special Collections Research Center. Highlighting rare hymnals and medieval music manuscripts.

Introduction

Sha Towers, librarian, instructing students on a music manuscript from the Jennings collectionThe Arts and Special Collections Research Center holds over 48,000 unique items. In this guide we are highlighting rare sacred music, specifically, medieval manuscripts, and an extensive collection of hymnals.

Find and Access

Published materials can be discovered in OneSearch. Materials in the Special Collections will display a status of "By Appointment Only".  

Once you have identified an item or items that you would like to use, see 

How to Make an Appointment and submit the request form. 

These unique items are housed in closed stacks, so  if you are interested in visiting or working with them, an appointment is recommended as we will need time to pull the items and have them ready for you to use.

Purpose

This guide serves as a starting point for research and engagement with these unique and rare collections.  It provides access to selected resources as well as instructional material to support your curriculum or individual research.

Audience

The Arts and Special Collections Research Center encourages students, faculty, visiting researchers and members of the community to explore our unique collections.

Special Collections require extra care and protection due to their unique nature.  This means they are kept in spaces that do not allow public access and you will need to make an appointment to view them.

Please visit our webpage to make an appointment: Make an Appointment

Click here for more information about the Arts and Special Collections Research Center.

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702