JPN 1301 Introductory Japanese

Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject. Offers topic pages that provide background information on a topic and mind maps that show relationships between topics. Search results may include images, video clips, and maps. Also displays links to related and specialized library databases allowing users to select other library databases for further topic exploration.

Provides short biographies of persons currently in the news and about whom no full-length biography exists as of the date of publication in Current Biography. Includes references to current (or then-current) news sources on the individual. Entries date back to 1940 but this is often the only reliable source for biography for current, living individuals. Broad coverage of people in media, politics, and all professions and arts are included.

Provides online access to a significant number of reference works published by Gale. Includes works in all academic subjects, and includes encyclopedias, literary criticism (individual works, authors, and movements/genres), biographical dictionaries, directories, and dictionaries (of events, ideas, and movements). Most entries have the option of being read (includes downloading an MP3 of the computer-voice reading). Gale Cengage.

Provides access to sources by writers, diplomats, tourists, businessmen, missionaries and others, documenting the political, cultural and social history of Japan from 1400 to the 20th century, including: medieval manuscripts relating to Japan, including an account by Marco Polo; the logbook of William Adams (1564-1620), alias Miura Anjin, the first Englishman known to have visited Japan; and the journals, printed articles and other papers of William Elliot Griffis, American author, teacher and educational reformer in Japan. Adam Matthew

Indexes and provides abstracts to scholarly journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, books and book reviews in history for all countries except the United States and Canada (for the U.S. and Canada use America: History & Life). Since every subject has a history all subjects are covered, from accounting and biology to warfare and zoology, not just traditional "history.", Includes research on eras from prehistory to the present. Basic, advanced, and visual search features, limits by time period, country, year of publication of article, language of publication, in addition to subject, author, keyword, etc. EBSCO.

Provides a subject, author, and title index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. MLA indexers review books, journals, and Web sites for material that relates to all forms of human communication. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. EBSCOhost.

Indexes all types of writing about television and film, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals. Subjects covered include film & television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes major academic film journals, international film publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Cinema in India, Cinemaya, Filmkultura, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio, and the full text of Variety Movie Reviews back to 1920.

The Asian & European Business Collection provides information on companies, economies, and markets as well as international trade and overall business conditions throughout these regions. The collection includes academic journals, news titles, newswires, and magazines.

Provides access to full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business, marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more. May be searched individually or in combination with other EBSCO databases. EBSCOhost.

Provides full-text coverage to over 600 full-text journals, over 200 full-text books, and over 60 000 images in art and architecture from 1929-present. Combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete. Includes indexing and abstracts for several hundred journals and books. Includes collection of thousands of images. EBSCOhost.

Provides citations and abstracts for more than 475 periodicals in all areas of music, including articles, book reviews, recording reviews, first performances, and obituaries. Includes full-text access for some items.

Indexes articles from around 400 scholarly and popular periodicals, as well as some books. Includes reviews, biographical profiles, obituaries, interviews, and more. Theatre and film are the largest categories, but all performing arts disciplines are covered. Some full text is available. Most records are from 1998 to the present and include an abstract. Produced by ProQuest and updated monthly.

Provides a bibliographic index with many full-text articles for topics on all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Covers 1865 to the present day. Searchable by author, title, subject terms, abstract, geographic terms, people, publication name. Includes academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and conference papers.

Provides bibliographic information and some full-text access to articles from, scientific and technical journals. Covers aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. Coverage of some journals from 1900. EBSCOhost.

Provides access to science and engineering research from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Key subject areas covered include Advanced technologies, Aerospace, Agricultural science, Aquatic science, Atmospheric science, Biological science, Computer science, Earth science, Environmental science, Engineering, Materials science, and Polymer science. Includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases. Offers specialized Abstract & Index resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature.

OneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:

• traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
  
• the Baylor Digital Collections;
  
• BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
  
• research guides;
  
• and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.