Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ART 4355 Abstract Expressionism and its Legacies

Specialized Resources (see tabs below)

A good place to begin your search is in art dictionaries or encyclopedias.  These can provide valuable background information on basic concepts and ideas as well identify specific artists associated with certain art movements.  Though the terms "dictionary" and "encyclopedia" are at times used interchangeably, dictionaries are primarily short definitions or descriptions of the topic whereas encyclopedias have lengthier articles on the topic. Art dictionaries and encyclopedias are available in the Crouch reference collection with call numbers beginning N31. For complete holdings, search Onesearch by subject for: "art dictionaries" and/or "art encyclopedias."  Selected examples below.

Art Modern 20th Century Dictionaries
live link to all resources using this subject heading

art encyclopedias
live link to all resources using the subject heading

 

SELECTED EXAMPLES:

Selection of art terminology resources. Top see more examples, search the library catalog (by subject) for:

art terminology

art encyclopedias

art dictionaries

 

SELECTED EXAMPLES: 

Selected examples:

You'll find dissertations and theses for which Baylor owns copies treated as books in BearCat. WorldCat is good source for discovering dissertations as is the database below which deals specifically with this type of resource.

In addition to the artists' entries found under the "dictionaries/encyclopedias" tab, you can also find more information in specifically biographical resources. You'll find indexes to the wide array of artist biographies in the Crouch Reference Collection beginning with the call number N40. Also search in Bearcat under the subject "Artists Biography Dictionaries."  The following are examples of indexes that can help identify sources of artist biographies.

 

SELECTED EXAMPLES:

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702