Finding Articles
The databases below will help you find articles. It is not an exhaustive list, but these are good places to start.
To find articles by a particular author, use the advanced search and the last name and initial(s) in the author field. If the person has a common last name, you might also want to add their institution or a topic.
Limit your results to articles published since 2007.
Make sure you choose a scientific research article and not a review paper or report or news item.
Some databases give you the option of clicking to find related articles.
-
BIOSIS citation indexProvides bibliographic references covering life sciences and biomedical research from 1926. Includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, molecular and cellular biology, pharmacology, and zoology. Includes Basic Search (by topic, title, author, Taxonomic Data, etc.) Cited Reference Search, and Advanced Search. Formerly known as Biological Abstracts. Limitable by facets. Web of Science Subject(s): Biology, Biochemistry, Environmental Science, Forensic Science, Medicine, Neuroscience, Nursing Nutrition, Physical Therapy
-
AGRICOLAContains bibliographic records from the U.S. National Agricultural Library (NAL). Earliest holdings date back to the 15th century. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, agricultural engineering and technology, food and human nutrition, earth and environmental sciences. Search by author, keyword, title, geographic terms, GPO Item number, etc. EBSCOhost.
-
BioOne abstracts & indexes
Includes citations to, literature on bioscience research covering arachnology, beetles, crustaceans, ecology, economic botany, entomology, environmental science, evolutionary biology, ferns, fish, genetics, lichens, mammals, microbiology, mosses and liverworts, natural history, ornithology, paleontology, parasitology, photobiology, reproduction, reptiles, veterinary science, and zoology. Coverage from 1998 and updated monthly. Searchable by keyword, author, title, year, environmental regime, etc. Limitable by author, descriptors, journal name, or publication type. CSA Illumina.
-
PubMed Advanced SearchFocuses medical or "human" biology with some coverage in other areas of biology. Direct links to some papers available in PubMedCentral or BioMedCentral. Links to articles in publishers websites. However, if BU does not have a subscription to that journal (or that issue), there is no BUInfoLink for interlibrary loan. Can click to find related articles.
-
MEDLINEIndexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Includes some full-text articles. Coverage generally from 1946 to present with some older material. Covers life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities. Search keyword, author, title, etc. Limitable by sex, age, clinical queries, subject subset, publication type, etc. EBSCOhost.
-
Scopus
Provides citations and abstracts of, peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, patents, and quality web sources as far back as 1823. Includes 4 collections: life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences and humanities. Search documents, authors, or affiliation. Advanced search uses Boolean operators and codes. Limitable by facets. Provides related articles and citation information. Customizable personal accounts. Part of the SciVerse system. -
Web of science. Core collection
Provides access to bibliographic information of journal articles through the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1900 to present. Search by topic, author, publication, editor, language, etc. Provides citation information. Limitable by facets. Customizable personal accounts.
Accessing Articles from Off-Campus
If you have trouble access articles or databases from off-campus, make sure you have logged into the Baylor University Libraries. Try putting http://ezproxy.baylor.edu/login?url= in front of the URL which will prompt you for your BearID and password. For more information check out this page or the guide below
