Journals in Your Profession
The easiest way to find journals in your profession is to search BearCat for the profession name followed by the word periodicals:
pediatrics periodicals
engineering (or electrical engineering, etc.) periodicals
The term "periodicals" is library lingo for journals, magazines, or anything published on a regular basis - even if it is only published once a year. Using this term will get you only periodicals. The list may be long, but it will provide you with examples of what your profession considers scholarly or trade writing.
To decide if the periodical you've found is scholarly or not, go to the Ulrichsweb database listed below, search the title, and if the matching result has a little referee jersey logo (
), then the journal is a scholarly journal.
- Ulrichsweb : global serials directory This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information on more than 300 000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
- Browzine AppBrowzine lets you get at the electronic journals Baylor owns in an easy, visual app. You can arrange journals by topic or subject on bookshelves. Since one of the best ways to become a good writer is to read in your field, take advantage of the Browzine app to access professional journals easily.
Subject-Specific Journal Sources
- Performing arts periodicals database This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from around 400 scholarly and popular periodicals, as well as some books. Includes reviews, biographical profiles, obituaries, interviews, and more.
- Film & television literature index with full text This link opens in a new windowIndexes all types of writing about television and film, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals. Subjects covered include film & television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes major academic film journals, international film publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Cinema in India, Cinemaya, Filmkultura, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio, and the full text of Variety Movie Reviews back to 1920.
You can also search in any one of the subject databases we have which index articles in a specific discipline or profession. Use the tabs above to find a selected list of these databases in your specific field.
- Access world news This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news publications from across the world, including major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles.
- Baylor Yearbook: The Round UpSenior pictures, Sing! and other activities.
- BU Libraries Athletics ArchiveDigital collection of programs, photos, film and video footage, and memorabilia from all of Baylor's athletics programs
- The LariatBaylor's student newspaper searchable online from 1909 - 2015. Active collection with periodic updates expected as materials are received.
- Baylor University Press Releases: 1920 - 2000'sCovering topics as diverse as on-campus speakers; the results of sporting events, debate tournaments and beauty contests; the impact of world conflict on the campus community; and the hundreds of student-produced productions staged every year, the collection provides unequalled insight into the daily life of the university as reported by its own media communications professionals.
The resources here are to both academic journal, education news, and educational statistical sources.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Includes citations and abstracts of documents and journal articles in all areas of education. Both journal articles (designated as EJ) and educational documents (ED) are indexed.
- Education research complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic information for articles and books for topics on all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationOnline from 1989 - present
- National Center for Education Statistics : NCES This link opens in a new window
Contains NCES publications and data products.
- IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to IEEE and partner publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, standards, books, and courses.
- Environment complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly publications in environmental science including ecosystem ecology,environmental law, environmental technology, marine and freshwater science, renewable energy resources and more
- AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics)Provides an index and access to full-text of articles, book reviews, and conference proceedings about aeronautics and astronautics.
- Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Encyclopedia of social work This link opens in a new window
Provides over overview articles on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
- Social work abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues, and problems.
- ProQuest social sciences premium collection This link opens in a new window
Covers all of the social sciences with deep coverage of sociology and politics, and extending to criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text business journals and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides business information from scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
- U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) This link opens in a new window
- PAIS index This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide public policy literature, international relations, and world politics through selective international sources.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Contains material not yet indexed in Medline.
- CINAHL with full text This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data and some full text for scholarly literature in nursing and allied health professions.
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and some full text of articles from periodicals, peer-reviewed reports, proceedings as well as association and consumer newsletters and pamphlets covering complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- National Library of MedicineThe National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, has been a center of information innovation since its founding in 1836. The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology. In addition, the Library coordinates a 6,000-member National Network of Libraries of Medicine that promotes and provides access to health information in communities across the United States.
- National Institute of Mental HealthPart of the National Institute of Medicine, the National Institute of Mental Health serves as a clearing house for information on all aspects of mental health and the center for government-funded research into mental health diagnosis and treatments. Search for handouts, research trials, and other information.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
These resources will cover popular magazines and scholarly journals, and some news sources. Good for examples of how other communities might have dealt with a similar problem with the articles (mostly) written for a general but educated audience.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and abstracts for journals in all academic subjects.
- Access world news This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news publications from across the world, including major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources for researching news, business, industry, and legal topics.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of an extensive number of current national and international newspapers.
- Vocational and career collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage for nearly 400 trade and industry related periodicals with indexing and abstracting provided for over 650 journals.
- Gale OneFile Vocations and Careers This link opens in a new window
Indexes professional and popular journals, newspaper articles, and other resources in the fields of careers and vocations, career counseling, and various areas of technical education (including engineering and allied health among others).
- MLA international bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a subject, author, and title index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for the core journals in the fields of communication studies, journalism and mass communication as well as non-core journals in additional fields which extend the resource to include the growing interdisciplinary nature of the field.
- Literary Market PlaceCall Number: JONES REF: PN161 .L5 2018 2 vols.Publication Date: AnnualDirectory of publishers.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources for researching news, business, industry, and legal topics.
