Skip to Main Content

ID 1332 Introduction to Interior Design

Resources for the Introduction to Interior Design class and assignments

Information to Gather about Images

You will always need to find:

  • Author/Artist/Creator (cite the image by title if the author is unknown)
  • Title (if the image does not have a title, create a title by describing the image)
  • Date Published (if the date is unknown, list "n.d." for "no date")

Other information:

  • Medium (only used when citing original artwork)

"Containers" (an MLA term for where the item is located)

  • Museum/Gallery/Collection Information: (if applicable)
    • Name of Institution or Private Collection Housing Artwork
    • City where Institution or Private Collection is Located
  • Print Source: (used when citing an image from a print source)
    • Title of Print Source 
    • Author of Print Source
    • Publisher of Print Source
    • Page of Print Source
  • Web Information: (used when citing an image from the web)
    • Title of Database or Website
    • Publisher of Database or Website
    • URL or DOI
    • Date of access (optional)

Citing an Original Work of Visual Art

To cite an original work of visual art (a lithograph, painting, photograph, sculpture, etc.) in an institution such as a museum or in a private collection, follow this format:

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Year, medium, Name of Institution or Private Collection Housing Artwork, City Where Institution or Private Collection is Located.

 

Examples:

Evans, Walker. Penny Picture Display. 1936, photograph. Museum of Mod. Art, New York.
 
Heckman, Albert. Windblown Trees. N.d., lithograph on paper. Private collection.
 
Rembrandt Harmensz van Rijn. Aristotle with a Bust of Homer. 1653, oil on canvas. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
 
Seurat, Georges. Man Leaning on a Fence. 1880-81, Graphite on paper. Collection of André Bromberg, n.p.

Citing an Image/Reproduction of a Work of Visual Art from a Print Source

To cite an image/reproduction of a work of visual art from a print source, follow this format:

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Date Artwork Created, Name of Institution or Private Collection Housing Artwork, City Where it is Housed. Title of Print Source by Author or Editor’s Name. Publisher, page or plate number.

 

Examples:

Eakins, Thomas. Spinning. 1881, Private collection. Thomas Eakins, edited by Darrel Sewell, Philadelphia Museum of Art in assn. with Yale UP, plate 91.
 
Kahlo, Frida. The Two Fridas. 1939, Museo de Art Moderno, Mexico City. Gardner’s Art Through the Ages: The Western Perspective, 12th ed., edited by Fred S. Kleiner, Christin J. Mamiya, Thomson Wadsworth, p. 774.
 
Moholy-Nagy, Lászlò. Photogram. N.d., Museum of Modern Art, New York. The Contest of Meaning: Critical Histories of Photography, edited by Richard Bolton, MIT Press, p. 94.
 

Citing an Image/Reproduction of a Work of Visual Art from the Web

To cite an image/reproduction of a work of visual art from the Web, follow this format:

Artist’s Last Name, First Name. Title of Artwork. Date artwork created, Name of Institution or Private Collection Housing Artwork, City Where it is Housed. Title of Database or Website, Publisher or sponsor of Database or Website, URL or DOI. Date of access (optional).

Note about publisher/sponsor: When known, include if it is not related to the housing institution/collection; is a parent entity of the database or website; or offers the source in additional formats.

Examples:

Braun, Adolphe. Flower Study, Rose of Sharon. c. 1854. Metropolitan Museum of Art. Grove Art Online. 0- www.oxfordartonline.com.llibrary.academyart.edu/su bscriber/article/img/grove/art/F019413. Accessed 10 Jan. 2017.
 
Currin, John. Blond Angel. 2001, Indianapolis Museum of Art, Indianapolis. Indianapolis Museum of Art, http://collection.imamuseum.org/artwork/43494/. Accessed 9 May 2007.
 
Eggleston, William. Memphis. c. 1969, Museum of Modern Art, New York. Academy of Art University Collection, LUNA. Academy of Art University, http://0-mon.academyart.edu.library. academyart.edu/luna/servlet/s/z437n3.
 
Lange, Dorothea. The Migrant Mother. 1936, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. Library of Congress, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/resource/fsa.8b2951 6/. Accessed 10 May 2014.

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702

Osofast A-Z Databases OneSearch Profiles Library Account Login Hours
Baylor University

Copyright © Baylor® University. All rights reserved.

Report It | Title IX | Mental Health Resources | Anonymous Reporting | Legal Disclosures