Information in Books
You can search for books using OneSearch.
Choose "Library Catalog" at the start of your search and filter your results to "Books" under "Resource Type."
Library Call Numbers
NK1700-2195 - In this call number range, you will find books on Interior decoration & House decoration (Moody General Collection, 3rd floor of Moody) This includes the history of interior decoration, decorative painting, furniture, rugs & carpets, tapestries, upholstery, draperies and wallpaper.
TX1-1110 - In this call number range, you will find books on Home Economics (Jones General Collection, 2nd floor of Jones), which is quite broad, but within this area, you can sometimes find books relating to the design of the home. Not as many as in the NKs, but still there are a few.
TH7700-7975 - In this call number range, you will find books on Illumination & Lighting (Jones General Collection, 2nd floor of Jones) The broader area has books on building construction, repair and architecture.
Where Interior Design Books are in the Library
3rd floor of Moody
2nd floor of Jones
Reference books
Encyclopedia of Interior DesignCall Number: Crouch Ref NK1165 .E48 1997 v.1 & v. 2ISBN: 1884964192Publication Date: 1997A two volume encyclopedia providing description and analysis of subjects and individuals associated with the history of interior design. The alphabetically arranged entries consist of architects, critics, designers, makers and patrons, room types, decoration and particular furniture.
The style sourcebook : the definitive illustrated directory of fabrics, wallpapers, paints, flooring, tilesCall Number: Crouch Books OVZ NK1705 .M56 2008ISBN: 9781554073597
The Elements of style : a practical encyclopedia of interior architectural details, from 1485 to the presentCall Number: Crouch Books OVZ NA2850 .E44 1991ISBN: 0671739816This book offers comprehensive visual evidence of most of the styles of architecture and interior design that have influenced America and Britain since the Renaissance. It is arranged by period style and indexed by specific design features (staircases, windows, and stoves, for example) through the use of color tabs on right-hand pages. Each period is handled by a separate expert. The glossaries of suppliers and the restoration/maintenance information will appeal to historic preservationists. Altogether, this is an impressive reference work for architects, interior designers, and historians who need a quick fix on a specific style, feature, or detail.
Dictionary of furnitureCall Number: Crouch Ref NK2205 .D5 2001ISBN: 0816042292Designed to be the comprehensive reference tool in the field, this ambitious work includes stylistic forms, construction and materials, and designers and manufacturers, throughout the world, from ancient to post-modern times.
Interior design handbook of professional practiceCall Number: ebook version (see link)ISBN: 007141603XThis complete guide explains everything you need to know about the practice and business of interior design--commercial, retail, residential, healthcare, hospitality, and facility management.
The Greenwood encyclopedia of homes through world historyCall Number: Crouch Books NA7105 .S74 2009 v.1-3ISBN: 9780313337888v. 1. From ancient times to the late Middle Ages, 6000 BCE-1200 -- v. 2. The Renaissance to the Industrial Revolution, 1201-1750 -- v. 3. The Industrial Revolution to today, 1751 to the present.
Information in Articles
You can search for articles using OneSearch.
Choose "Articles and more" at the start of your search..
Library Databases
- Art & architecture source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage to over 600 full-text journals, over 200 full-text books, and over 60 000 images in art and architecture from 1929-present. Combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete.
- Avery index to architectural periodicals This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.
Individual Journals
Online Reference Information
- Oxford art online This link opens in a new windowServes as a portal to several important art related resources: Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Search by terms biographies, subject entries, or images. Oxford University Press.
- Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
