It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health Services Research
This guide provides access to resources which can be used by those in Health Services Research to find articles and other information on health and health care topics.
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Includes some full-text articles. Coverage generally from 1946 to present with some older material. Covers life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities. Search keyword, author, title, etc. Limitable by sex, age, clinical queries, subject subset, publication type, etc. EBSCOhost.
Provides access to citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some links to full-text content. Some coverage back to 1809. Covers chemicals and bioassays, DNA and RNA, data and software, domains and structures, genes and expression, genetics and medicine, genomes and maps, homology, literature, proteins, sequence analysis, taxonomy, training and tutorials, and variation. Searchable by author, date, grant number journal, MeSH variables, EC/RN number, etc. Limitable by type of article species, subsets, language, sex, age, etc. PubMed is part of the larger NCBI website. Customizable personal accounts available.
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Coverage generally from 1946 to present with some older material. Covers life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and chemistry. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities. Search keyword, author, title, etc. Limitable by abstract, article type, language, etc. -- Web of Science
Provides bibliographic data and some full text from literature in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) from 1981 to the present. Provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. Provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable using author, keyword, title, MedLine PMID, etc. Limitable by clinical queries, journal subset, special interest, age groups, language, etc. Automatically defaults to suggest subject terms.
Embase covers the biomedical and pharmacological literature. It is particularly strong in European and international literature. It has 30 million+ records from 8 500+ currently published journals. Embase includes six million+ records and 2 700+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE.
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes. EBSCOhost.
Contains abstracts, articles, and full text of more than 2500 journals and 11 000 books as far back as 1823. Subject areas include physical science and engineering (chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, energy, engineering, materials science, mathematics, physics and astronomy), life sciences (agricultural and biological sciences, biochemistry, genetics and molecular biology, environmental science, immunology and microbiology, and neuroscience), health sciences (medicine and dentistry, nursing and health professions, pharmacology, toxicology and pharmaceutical science, veterinary science and veterinary medicine), and social science and humanities (arts and humanities, business, management and accounting, decision sciences, economics, econometrics and finance, psychology, social sciences). Full-text availability indicated by a green box. Both articles and images are searchable by keyword, author, ISBN, etc. Cross references to related journal and reference work articles. Some tables are downloadable into excel. Customizable personal accounts.
Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues, and problems. Searchable by author, title, abstract, subject, publication date, source, publisher, document type, etc. Includes articles in periodicals, books, book chapters, and dissertations. EBSCOhost.