Chinese Language Texts in Print
Si ku quan shu da ci dian | 四庫全書大辭典 by Call Number: Moody General Collection AC149.S75 Y33 1987 v.1-2Publication Date: 1987
Chinese Language Texts Online
- Chinese Text SamplerAn Annotated Collection of Digitized Chinese Texts for Students of Chinese Language and Culture
- Chinese Text InitiativeFull-text original versions of several classical texts, some with English translations and/or search capabilities. The site also provides the original Chinese texts that correspond to major works of Chinese literature in translation
- Hanquan (寒泉), National Palace Museum, TaiwanA full-text, searchable database containing numerous classical texts and text compilations, including poetry, the novel Dream of the Red Chamber, and general works.
- Guoxue 国学 .comAccess to indices, full texts and discussions, with an emphasis on classical literature and history. Texts in simplified Chinese. Registration required for some features.
What is a Primary Source?
Primary source: In scholarship, a document or record containing firsthand information or original data on a topic. Primary sources include original manuscripts, articles reporting original research or thought, diaries, memoirs, letters, journals, photographs, drawings, posters, film footage, sheet music, songs, interviews, government documents, public records, eyewitness accounts, newspaper clippings, etc. Glossary of Library and Research Terms.
A book which is the edited text of a manuscript, diary, or other type of primary source is also a primary source. Thus, the printed editions of The Parliament rolls of medieval England 1275 - 1504 is also a primary source even though it was published in 2005.
- Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, UsingImportant information on how to locate freely-accessible primary sources on the web, what you need to know to evaluate these sources (not all are created equally well), and how to use and document them appropriately for your paper.
