Director of the Liaison Program
Research & Engagement
Good Subject Headings
Use these subject headings when searching in OneSearch to find books on topics related to cross-cultural communication.
- Intercultural Communication
- Cultural Relations
- Cross Cultural Studies
- Multicultural Education
Welcome
Welcome to the course research guide for CSS 3314: Cross-Cultural Communication. On this guide you will find links to databases with scholarly articles related to your course topics. Use these databases when working on your final cultural identity paper.
There are also links to books and encyclopedias that can help you get background information on your topic.
The second tab on the left hand side goes to a research guide on Zotero, a citation management tool that can help you get a handle on the resources you find and citing them properly.
Scholarly Databases
- Race relations abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage is from 1975 to the present. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.
- Gale OneFile Gender Studies This link opens in a new windowProvides a collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format covering gay and lesbian studies; intended primarily for academic researchers. Includes academic journals, magazines, and news sources.
- Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowAccess a diverse collection of primary sources, scholarly articles, biographical information (from Notable American Women), data and graphs, state, local, and national reports, and the online journal Women and Social Movements. Covers gender, racial, moral, employment, and social issues related to women. Includes teaching tools on specific issues which are supported by the documents in the collection. Browse contents by movement, document project or archive, chronology, etc. keyword and advance search options. Alexander Street Press.
- Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for the fields of communication studies, journalism and mass communication. It includes over 700 journals, over 450 of those in full text. While it is primarily comprised of the core communication studies journals, it does also include non-core journals which help to extend the resource to include the growing interdisciplinary nature of the field. EBSCOhost.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowProvides a great starting place for research, as it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12 500 journals in all academic subjects, including more than 8 500 full-text and 7 300 peer-reviewed journals. Other types of publications included in this resource are books and book chapters, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings, reports, etc. Searchable by keyword, title, author, subject, journal name, and a lot more. Results can be limited by date, language, publication type, full-text status or whether a journal is scholarly/peer-reviewed. EBSCOhost.
- Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes citations to book reviews and abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. It includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts. Records. Searchable by author, title, keyword, descriptors, source, and 26 other fields. Covers the years 1952 to the present time. ProQuest/CSA.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes. EBSCOhost.
Background information
Cross-cultural communication : theory and practice by Call Number: e-book, check link for accessISBN: 9780230391147
Managing Cross-Cultural Communication by Call Number: Moody General Collection HM1211 .M38 2011ISBN: 9780230249530
Cross-Cultural Communication by Call Number: Moody General Collection P94.6 .W37 2006ISBN: 9780895033185
