Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ART 4730 Art of Michelangelo: Specialized Resources

Resources in support of ART 4370

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

A good place to begin your search is in art dictionaries or encyclopedias.  These can provide valuable background information on basic concepts and ideas as well identify specific artists associated with certain art movements.  Though the terms "dictionary" and "encyclopedia" are at times used interchangeably, dictionaries are primarily short definitions or descriptions of the topic whereas encyclopedias have lengthier articles on the topic. For complete holdings, search OneSearch by subject for: "art dictionaries" and/or "art encyclopedias."  Selected examples below.

art dictionaries in OneSearch
live link into OneSearch showing all resources using the subject heading "art dictionaries"

limiting to online art dictionaries

art encyclopedias in OneSearch
live link into OneSearch to all resources using the subject heading "art encyclopedias"

limiting to online art encyclopedias

SELECTED EXAMPLES:

Art Terminology Resources

Selection of art terminology resources. Top see more examples, search the library catalog (by subject) for:

art terminology

art encyclopedias

art dictionaries

SELECTED EXAMPLES: 

Dissertations and Theses

You'll find dissertations and theses for which Baylor owns copies treated as books in BearCat. The link below provides access to specialized databases that focus exclusively on theses and dissertations.

Image Resources

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702