Arts and Special Collections Research Center
The Arts and Special Collections Research Center's rare books and archives include a wide array of unique materials. Medieval manuscripts, early American tunebooks, papers of modern educators, manuscripts of contemporary composers, artist books, and an extensive collection of popular sheet music from the 19th and 20th centuries are all available by appointment.
Published materials can be discovered in OneSearch. For archival collections that have been processed, a finding aid will be available through OneSearch or the Baylor Archival Repositories Database (BARD). Items within an archival collection, such as music manuscripts or images, are not cataloged separately. Search for the collection record, then consult the finding aid to identify specific items.
Once you have identified an item or items that you would like to use, see "How to Make an Appointment" and submit the request form.
Archives
Richard M. Willis Collection
- Manuscripts of this former Composer in Residence at Baylor. Visit: Composer Manuscript Collections
Music in Missions Collection
- Archival collections that document the work of Baptist music missionaries. Visit: Music and Cultures Collections
Word Records Music Manuscript Collection
- Christian music compositions and arrangements produced for Word Records, dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. Visit: Music and Cultures Collections
Rare and unique collections
Black Gospel Music Restoration Project
Hymnals, Tune Books, and Songbooks
- An overview of the church music scores held in the Crouch Library Special Collections, including the major components and their sources. Visit: Rare Music
Jennings Collection
- Medieval manuscripts and early printed music. Visit: Rare Music
