Director of the Liaison Program
Research & Engagement
Welcome to your class research guide
In this guide, you will find
- Specialized background resources in your field, like Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- Relevant scholarly article databases
- Links to learn how to use Zotero, a user-friendly citation management tool
Scholarly Article Databases
I would suggest using the Communication & mass media database to research the communication issue you will be working on with your non-profit organization.
Use the Business database ABI/Inform to research the type of organization as well as the communication issue.
- Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for the fields of communication studies, journalism and mass communication. It includes over 700 journals, over 450 of those in full text. While it is primarily comprised of the core communication studies journals, it does also include non-core journals which help to extend the resource to include the growing interdisciplinary nature of the field. EBSCOhost.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new windowSearch 1000 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more, including the non-profit world.
Databases relevant to the groups you're working with
- SPORTDiscus with full text This link opens in a new windowProvides an index with abstracts for many of the entries, for the full range of sport information. Includes physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, and occupational health and therapy. Includes journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings. Many of the most important journals are included with full text (which began in 1985) and without an embargo on the full text. Index entries begin with a few titles in the 1600's. International in coverage with articles and their abstracts appearing in English, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish. EBSCOhost.
- Health source : consumer edition This link opens in a new windowProvides full text to more than 70 magazines, 130 reference books, and numerous pamphlets as far back as 1984. Covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. Most texts are geared towards a general audience.
- Social Work AbstractsThe database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
- Education research complete This link opens in a new windowProvides a bibliographic index with many full-text articles for topics on all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Covers 1865 to the present day. Searchable by author, title, subject terms, abstract, geographic terms, people, publication name. Includes academic journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and conference papers.
Other databases you can search
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowProvides a great starting place for research, as it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12 500 journals in all academic subjects, including more than 8 500 full-text and 7 300 peer-reviewed journals. Other types of publications included in this resource are books and book chapters, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings, reports, etc. Searchable by keyword, title, author, subject, journal name, and a lot more. Results can be limited by date, language, publication type, full-text status or whether a journal is scholarly/peer-reviewed. EBSCOhost.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
- the Baylor Digital Collections;
- BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
- research guides;
- and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
Specialized Encyclopedias
The international encyclopedia of communicationCall Number: Jones Ref P87.5 .I58 2008 v.1-12ISBN: 1405131993Publication Date: 2008The International Encyclopedia of Communication represents the definitive reference work in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field. This authoritative twelve-volume set is jointly published by Wiley-Blackwell and the International Communication Association (ICA), the leading academic association of the discipline in the world.
Encyclopedia of religion, communication, and mediaCall Number: Jones Ref P94 .E48 2006ISBN: 0415969468Publication Date: 2006A plethora of existing encyclopedias covers the independent study of religion, communication, and the media. Few, however, manage to bring these disparate fields together. Stout (journalism & media studies, Univ. of Nevada, Las Vegas; coeditor, Journal of Media and Religion) has carefully chosen respected international scholars with expertise in a wide range of subjects-e.g., communication, religion, theology, and the media-to create this unprecedented interdisciplinary, cross-cultural encyclopedia concentrating on the various forms of written and oral religious methods used to communicate with divinity around the world. The 124 A-to-Z signed entries explore not only traditional media but also new media (e.g., cyber environments, film, and sculpture).
Blackwell Handbook of Social Psychology by Call Number: e-book, click to access full textISBN: 0585468125Publication Date: 2001-01-01This handbook provides an authoritative, up-to-date overview of the social psychology of group processes. The topics covered include group decisions, juries, group remembering, roles, status, leadership, social identity and group membership, socialization, group performance, negotiation and bargaining, emotion and mood, computer-mediated communication, organizations and mental health. 26 specially commissioned chapters offer unparalleled coverage of the whole field of group processes; a carefully chosen team of authors from around the world ensures a truly international perspective; and fully referenced chapters include bibliographies for easy access to further study. This handbook is essential reading for upper-level students looking for succinct overviews and for researchers seeking an authoritative definition of the field which also indicates likely future trends.
The Handbook of Group Communication Theory and Research by Call Number: Moody General Collection HM133 .H354 1999ISBN: 0761910271Publication Date: 1999The Handbook of Group Communication Theory and Research establishes a central resource for the field, documenting and synthesizing the work done in group communication's 50-year history. With contributions from the most experienced and respected scholars in the field, the editors present an overview of group communication study and examine a variety of theoretical positions and methodological practices.
Groups: a guide to small group work in healthcare, management, education and research by Call Number: Moody General Collection HM736 .E48 2001ISBN: 185775400XPublication Date: 2001In this introductory text, the author presents the law relating to child care and the reforms introduced by the Children Act 1989, assessing its impact on child care practice and procedures. Focusing on a practical interpretation of the law by the use of hypothetical examples, practice notes and recommendations, the book illustrates its relevance to those working in the caring and health professions, and incorporates details of various sets of Guidance and Regualtions issued by the Department of Health. In addition it provides an outline of adoption law, the principles of consent to treatment and the effect of surrogacy and "assisted reproduction" on the legal definition of parenthood.
