Skip to Main Content

Data Sets for Research

Guide for finding free, publicly available data sets and the subscription data sets available at Baylor University Libraries.

Cultural Heritage Datasets

Government Datasets

Generally, all government data is free to the public.

American Community Survey (ACS)
LIbrary of Congress
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association (NOAA)
Texas Open Data Portal
U.S. Government Datasets
Census TIGER
McLennan County Appraisal District
Texas Education Agency Public Open Data Site
Texas Natural Information Resources Information System
TNRIS archives, maintains, and distributes the largest collection of current and historical geographic data sets for the State of Texas.
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ): GIS Data
Download GIS datasets maintained by the TCEQ. Each dataset is available in shapefile (shp), file geodatabase (gdb), and Google Earth (kmz) formats.

Science Datasets

Text and General Datasets

Google Ngram Viewer
Google Public Data Explorer
Internet Archive - Free E-Books and Texts
The Open Access Directory
Project Gutenberg
Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data)
Sherpa Romeo
searchable database of publishers’ OA policies
Thesis Commons
UC Irvine Network Data Repository

Social Science Datasets

Other Free/Open Datasets

GitHub Awesome-Public-Datasets - contains a variety of publicly available datasets on a variety of topics.

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702

Osofast A-Z Databases OneSearch Profiles Library Account Login Hours