JOU 5320 Theory of Mass Communication

The International Encyclopedia of Communication represents the definitive reference work in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field. This authoritative twelve-volume set is jointly published by Wiley-Blackwell and the International Communication Association (ICA), the leading academic association of the discipline in the world. A ground-breaking collection of nearly 1,350 original entries within a 12 volume set, spanning the scholarship, evidence, and methodology of communication research Jointly published by Wiley Blackwell and the prestigious International Communication Association (ICA) Newly-commissioned entries divided into 29 editorial areas representing major fields of inquiry within communication, each of which is headed by a leading expert in their respective field Editorial areas include: communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology Spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas within this dynamic and interdisciplinary field Written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers, with new entries added and revisions made each year until 2015 Reader-friendly A-Z entries ranging from extended explorations of major topics to short descriptions of key concepts, with sophisticated cross-referencing and search facilities, lexicon by subject area, and a comprehensive index 12 Volumes www.communicationencyclopedia.com

Communication theory is multidisciplinary in scope. Psychology, sociology, and other social science disciplines have been instrumental in the development of this subject for many decades. This encyclopedia features approximately 300 entries resulting from the collaborations and contributions of over 200 individuals from over ten countries. In two volumes, the editors (both professors of journalism and communications) have provided an overview of the subject broad enough to allow users to appreciate the interconnectedness of the principles of communications in a general sense, and narrow enough to focus only upon communication theory. The entries are of essay length and include expository definitions, text, see also references, and suggestions for further reading. Feminism, philosophy, linguistics, and global media are some of the relevant subsets of communication theory that this work covers. In addition to alphabetical listings, users may access entries via an index of 17 topical categories. Lists of theorists and a chronology of major themes and developments affecting communication theory--from classical times to the present--are also very useful.

Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research.

A plethora of existing encyclopedias covers the independent study of religion, communication, and the media. Few, however, manage to bring these disparate fields together. Stout (journalism & media studies, Univ. of Nevada, Las Vegas; coeditor, Journal of Media and Religion) has carefully chosen respected international scholars with expertise in a wide range of subjects-e.g., communication, religion, theology, and the media-to create this unprecedented interdisciplinary, cross-cultural encyclopedia concentrating on the various forms of written and oral religious methods used to communicate with divinity around the world. The 124 A-to-Z signed entries explore not only traditional media but also new media (e.g., cyber environments, film, and sculpture).

Accessible to wide range of readers from student to lay people, this authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentaries. Written by distinguished scholar and author Marcel Danesi, and with an Introduction by Arthur Asa Berger, a leading figure in the world of media and communications, the dictionary also includes terms related to psychology, linguistics, aesthetics, computer science, semiotics, culture theory, anthropology, and more that have relevance in media studies. Each entry includes a definition in simple, clear language; an illustration where applicable; and, historical commentary (who coined a term for example, why, who uses it, etc.). A bibliography, a directory of online resources, and a time-line of media genres add to the dictionary's usefulness and appeal.

This guide offers detailed advice on the journal article publication process, describing each step of the process and providing insights for improving the presentation of work intended for publication in communication journals. It includes advice from journal editors across the discipline and offers resource materials to help both new and seasoned writers publish their work.

This easy-to-understand introduction to the topic engages students in the research process. It explains difficult scientific and statistical concepts in simple terms and looks at how the rules of looking are applied in four different areas of study: field research, experimentation, survey research and content analysis.

This is the 2nd edition of this book. There are further editions available.