Additional Reading
- Journal of Librarianship and Scholarly CommunicationAn open access journal established in 2012 with a focus on the field of scholarly communication and related disciplines.
- International Open Access WeekOctober 19-26, 2020
International Open Access Week is an opportunity for the academic and research community to continue to learn about the potential benefits of Open Access, to share what they’ve learned with colleagues, and to help inspire wider participation in helping to make Open Access a new norm in scholarship and research.
Books
Below are links to resources in the Baylor Libraries that explain the ins and outs of scholarly publishing or textbook publishing and are good sources for keeping up to date on the scholarly publishing world. The titles are links to the OneSearch record for call number and availability information.
You might also want to read the blog entry "Insights on Scholarly Publishing Opportunities" from Eileen's blog. It includes links to interviews with acquisitions editors from scholarly publishers as well as other information for publishing in scholarly journals.
Searching for information has changed in the age of online information discovery. One way things have changed is through the use of DOI's or Digital Object Identifiers. The purpose of a DOI is to better identify intellectual property in an online environment. These numbers first started appearing in scholarly use when the American Psychological Association required their inclusion in bibliographies and reference lists for journal articles, but DOI's are now also assigned to books and book chapters. Since it is possible to disarticulate an article from the full journal issue it appeared in or a book chapter from the full book, DOI's provide a means for identifying this information and are useful tools for discovering more complete bibliographic information. A good overview of DOI's is provided by Wiley Online's Help page on Digital Document Identifiers.
Handbook for Academic Authors by ISBN: 0521495490Publication Date: 1995-10-27". . . how to choose a publisher and how to present a persuasive and well-planned proposal. . . . introduces the reader to the standard publishing contract and offers advice on how to negotiate." (Publisher's description). Includes chapters on writing and working with a publisher for both scholarly books and textbooks.
Scholarly Publishing by ISBN: 0471219290Publication Date: 2001-11-16This book offers readers a well-rounded and accurate account of the amazing and unpredictable sequence of inter-related events experienced by the field of scholarly publishing in the 20th century. Examining the related worlds of book, journal, and electronic publishing; information technology; and library advances, this is the first work to record the trends of the modern history of the information/knowledge transfer process. Using an analysis of the past 100 years, it also makes predictions regarding future trends and the roles of the publishing and library communities in tomorrow's information marketplace. (Publisher's description).
The Thesis and the Book by ISBN: 0802088066Publication Date: 2003-05-31"Drawing on the expertise of the contributors, all of whom are editors, publishers, and scholars themselves, the chapters present the rudimentary differences between a thesis and a book (including matters of purpose and audience), give guidance on the necessary stylistic, technical, and structural revisions to the dissertation, and offer advice to first-time authors who must not only revise their work to satisfy prospective publishers, but also learn a good deal of the ins and outs of scholarly publishing." (Publisher description).
Data Policies and Repositories
- arXivOpen access to 890,563 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
- BioProjectA collection of biological data related to a single initiative, originating from a single organization or from a consortium. This resource provides users a single place to find links to the diverse data types generated for that project.
- bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly non-peer reviewed unpublished preprints for the life sciences reporting new, confirmatory or contradictory findings but not clinical research.
- Chemical Science RepositorySubject-based repository that will make it easier for researchers to find and share relevant journal articles and data from a single point of access.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social ResearchData available to the Baylor community because of Baylor's membership in ICPSR.
- JSTOR Data for ResearchProvided by JSTOR for use by the research community, this service provides a set of web-based tools for selecting and interacting with content from the JSTOR archive and the the ability to obtain data sets via bulk downloads.
- Panton PrinciplesPrinciples for Open Data in Science
- Sloan Digital Sky SurveyPresents data from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey, a project to make a map of a large part of the universe.
- SSHRC Research Data Archiving PolicyData archiving policy from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.
Scholarly Communication Blogs
The following blogs discuss scholarly communication and open access issues:
- DigitalKoans -- Charles W. Bailey
- In the Open -- Authors vary, but includes Lisa Macklin, Kevin Smith, among others
- Imaginary Journal of Poetic Economics -- Heather Morrison
- Open Access Archivangelism -- Stevan Harnard
- Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association Blog
- Open and Shut -- Richar Poynder
- Open Students -- Student news from the Open Access Movement
- Scholarly Communication @ Duke -- Kevin Smith (Note: Kevin Smith is now Dean of Libraries at the University of Kansas and contributes to the "In the Open" blog.)
- Scholarly Kitchen -- Authors vary
- Scholarly Open Access -- Jeffrey Beall
- SPARC Blog -- Authors vary
Scholarly Society Statements
- American Historical Association Statement on Scholarly Journal PublishingIssued September 24, 2012
- Medical Library Association (MLA)Summarizes the work of Medical Library Association's committees' and task force's work on scholarly communication
- Modern Language Association's "Guidelines for Evaluating Work in Digital Humanities and Digital Media"Issued May 2000; reviewed January 2012
- Institute of Historical Research:2012/12/10
- Librarians Rally Behind Blogger Sued by Publisher Over Critical CommentsChronicle of Higher Education 2013/02/14
Texas Digital Library
Baylor University is a member of the Texas Digital Library. The library is a consortium of Texas higher education institutions that support shared services for teaching and research. Although they have a number of initiatives, the most important services available from TDL for Baylor are:
- Digital Preservation Network -- The Digital Preservation Network is being created by research-intensive universities to ensure long-term preservation of the complete digital scholarly record. TDL serves as a node on the digital preservation network. UT-Austin and the Texas Digital Library are closely aligned with this project.
- DSpace -- Baylor's institutional repository, BEARdocs, uses the DSpace software to create, manage, and make discoverable collections of resources that reflect the intellectual artifacts produced by Baylor faculty and students, with the largest collection being all electronic theses and dissertations produced at Baylor since Fall 2005.
- Open Journal System -- Software that manages the set-up and maintenance of an online journal, including online submission, blind peer review, manuscript revisions, and final publication.
- Texas Data Repository -- Launching in fall 2016, the Texas Data Repository was created using Harvard's Dataverse software and is a platform for publishing and archiving datasets (and other data products) created by faculty, staff, and students at Texas higher education institutions -- in part to fulfill data management plans that require open access to research data.
- Vireo -- Software that effectively manages the submission of electronic theses and dissertations to institutional repositories, from the student's inital submission to the final release of the ETD in the repository.
