Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ART 4358 Contemporary Art: Specialized Resources

This guide was designed to help find information sources about contemporary art and artists.

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

A good place to begin your search is in art dictionaries or encyclopedias.  These can provide valuable background information on basic concepts and ideas as well identify specific artists associated with certain art movements.  Though the terms "dictionary" and "encyclopedia" are at times used interchangeably, dictionaries are primarily short definitions or descriptions of the topic whereas encyclopedias have lengthier articles on the topic. Art dictionaries and encyclopedias are available in the Crouch reference collection with call numbers beginning N31. For complete holdings, search Bearcat by subject for: "art dictionaries" and/or "art encyclopedias."  Selected examples below.

art dictionaries in Bearcat
live link into Bearcat showing all resources using the subject heading "art dictionaries"

    art encyclopedias in Bearcat
    live link into Bearcat to all resources using the subject heading "art encyclopedias"

    SELECTED EXAMPLES:

    Art Terminology Resources

    Selection of art terminology resources. Top see more examples, search the library catalog (by subject) for:

    art terminology

    art encyclopedias

    art dictionaries

    SELECTED EXAMPLES: 

    Bibliographies


    Image Resources

    Dissertations and Theses

    You'll find dissertations and theses for which Baylor owns copies treated as books in BearCat. WorldCat is good source for discovering dissertations (see box below) as is, the database below which deals specifically with this type of resource.

    University Libraries

    One Bear Place #97148
    Waco, TX 76798-7148

    (254) 710-6702