Guides: Music Industry Statistics: Companies

Search tips

Before you begin your research, it is good to stop for a minute and gather your information. Some of the facts that are helpful to know are:

Proper operating name of your company
Whether your company is public or private, subsidiary or international
Where is your company located
Who are the officers for your company
What does your company produce or what service do they provide

Remember, when all else fails, stop for a moment and check your spelling.

Datasets

Data Planet provides information in the form of data from a variety of sources. This resource can provide demographic data about consumers as well as data on the consumption of different items. Please see your Baylor business librarian for help in using this database.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications, state and private sources, and international organizations.

Company research - Databases

These are resources that can help you find the basic facts about your company.

Mergent online
Mergent Online is a corporate financial database that provides information on U.S. and international companies. In addition to complete company profiles, information includes comprehensive company research, including financial statement data (current and historical), annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, executive bios,and more.

PrivCo : private company financial data authority This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many well known privately-held companies in addition to M&A activity, PE & VC information and funding deals.
The first time you use PrivCo, you will need to set up an account associated with your Baylor e-mail address.
1. Access the PrivCo database through the Baylor Libraries homepage.
2. Click on the “New to PrivCo? Create an Account” link located below the Login box and enter your information. Use your Baylor email address.
3. You will receive an email from PrivCo when your account is active.
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. Go here to find the following:
Information on local business
Information on businesses nationwide
Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to major publications and company information from Standard and Poor's.

Music Industry Statistics: Companies

Search tips

Datasets

Company research - Databases

University Libraries