Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Libraries Resources for New Faculty: Research Resources

Your Librarian

Every academic unit on campus has a Research and Engagement Librarian available to work with faculty members. Your library consultant can assist with the request and purchase of books, journals, and other research materials and services.

See also the "Your Research Librarian" tab on this guide.

Academic and Research Computing Services

Use Academic and Research Computing Services to meet research-based computing needs such as access to high performance computing (HPC) resources, HPC programming support, and research computing consultation.
 
Contact:  Mike Hutcheson (254) 710-4110 or mike_hutcheson@baylor.edu.

Baylor Digital Collections

With items spanning seven centuries, four continents and topics local to international, the Baylor University Libraries Digital Collections are among the most unique in the world. Professional historians, scholars, researchers, genealogists and passionate amateurs alike will find our collections enlightening, enriching and of the highest quality.

BearCat

Use the Libraries' online catalog to identify books, journals, audiovisual materials, electronic resources, etc. available from any of the Baylor University Libraries and several electronic databases

BEARdocs

Make valuable research available to other researchers by establishing a community and/or collection of research which might include: conference papers, preprints, post prints, technical reports, working papers, white papers, etc.

Box

Store files (text, graphics, etc.) in and share files from this resource, which provides 50 GB of network storage. Files can be shared with people who are, or are not, affiliated with Baylor University.

For more information: http://www.baylor.edu/its/index.php?id=94642

BrowZine

BrowZine, an app for iOS and Android devices, organizes journal articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, unites them into complete journals,and arranges these journals -- by broad subject categories -- on a common newsstand.  The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read, and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines of interest.  Use this research guide for more information.

BU InfoLinks

Use this service to find out if articles and books identified in research databases are available in the Baylor Libraries or to obtain them easily through OsoFast.

Collections and Resources

Contact our Collections Management and Delivery unit for assistance with building collections, identifying needed resources, completing accreditation documents, donating materials to the library, or other library collection questions.

Contact: Mike Thompson

E-Journals

Use this resource to see if the full text of articles from specific magazine, journal, and newspaper titles is available online. 

Electronic Resources Database

Access hundreds of electronic resources (databases of references to articles, full text journal articles, etc.) to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe. With a valid Bear ID, these resources are also available from off-campus.

Electronic Theses and Dissertations

EndNote

Use EndNote to collect citations from databases and elsewhere; organize them; cite them in papers, automatically formatted for bibliography and footnotes for specific styles 

Internet2

Internet2 provides Baylor with leading edge network capability to the national research community, enabling innovative Internet applications and ensuring the rapid transfer of new network services and applications to the broader Internet community.

Library Website

The Libraries' Web site lets you access the resources, tools, and services provided by the University Libraries and Electronic Library.

OneSearch

 

OneSearch is a discovery resource that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:

  • the library catalog (books, journal titles, media, etc.)
  • the Baylor Digital Collections
  • BEARdocs (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.)
  • research guides, and
  • much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.

OneSearch also helps you manage your research. Sign-in in order to:

  • Renew books and videos
  • Create favorites lists
  • Export citations to Refworks and Endnote Web
  • View full search results. (Some databases, only show results when you're signed in.)

Online Survey Creation

With Qualtrics Online Survey software provided by the Baylor Libraries, you can create surveys (with no additional software other than a browser), share research tools with colleagues at other institutions, and get full technical support.  The "Using Qualtrics" web page provides additional information.

OsoFast Delivery

Faculty members in participating departments may receive direct delivery of library materials to their departmental offices.

OsoFast Interlibrary Loan

Use OsoFast from Interlibrary Services to request materials not owned by or available in the Baylor University Libraries.

Personal and Academic Websites

The Electronic Library offers WordPress (Blogs @ Baylor) at http://blogs.baylor.edu for class and student web sites and (Sites @ Baylor) at http://sites.baylor.edu for professional/personal websites.  This web page provides addititional information.

Pivot (Community of Scholars)

Use this resource to identify research funding opportunities and to identify and locate researchers with interest and expertise similar to your own. For off-campus access, use the Community of Science link from the Libraries' Electronic Resources Database.

RefWorks and RefShare

Use RefWorks to collect citations from databases and elsewhere; organize them; cite them in papers, automatically formatted for bibliography and footnotes for specific styles (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.). Use RefShare to share your RefWorks databases with others both on and off campus.

RSS Feeds and Alert Services

Use these services to receive tables of contents from favorite research journals or to receive regularly updated search alerts on research topics of interest. Both options are available from a wide variety or resources available through the Baylor Libraries. Contact your library liaison for more information.

 

Suggest a Purchase

Submit recommendations for materials to be purchased for the Baylor Libraries, including rush materials needed for classes.

Zotero

Try Zotero, a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work – in the web browser.

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702