It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A two volume encyclopedia providing description and analysis of subjects and individuals associated with the history of interior design. The alphabetically arranged entries consist of architects, critics, designers, makers and patrons, room types, decoration and particular furniture.
This book offers comprehensive visual evidence of most of the styles of architecture and interior design that have influenced America and Britain since the Renaissance. It is arranged by period style and indexed by specific design features (staircases, windows, and stoves, for example) through the use of color tabs on right-hand pages. Each period is handled by a separate expert. The glossaries of suppliers and the restoration/maintenance information will appeal to historic preservationists. Altogether, this is an impressive reference work for architects, interior designers, and historians who need a quick fix on a specific style, feature, or detail.
Designed to be the comprehensive reference tool in the field, this ambitious work includes stylistic forms, construction and materials, and designers and manufacturers, throughout the world, from ancient to post-modern times.
Serves as a portal to several important art related resources: Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Search by terms biographies, subject entries, or images. Includes 23 000 subject entries, 21 000 biographies, 500 000 bibliographic citations, 40 000 image links, and 5 500 images contained within Grove Art Online. Oxford University Press.
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject. Offers topic pages that provide background information on a topic and mind maps that show relationships between topics. Search results may include images, video clips, and maps. Also displays links to related and specialized library databases allowing users to select other library databases for further topic exploration.
Provides authoritative biographies of deceased individuals who influenced British history, including colonial British-Americans. Biographies include a listing of major works written by the individual (if any) and a reference list of full-length biographies and critical articles. Each biography also includes a "Reputation" section which describes the individual's standing in his or her time period and how that has changed since then. Very helpfully will indicate where the individual's archives are, if they exist. Also provides links to major themed articles (on the American Founding Fathers, for instance), entries to related individuals, and to other online resources produced by Oxford University Press (which we may or may not have access to). Oxford University Press.
Covers more than 18 000 individuals who fit all the following criteria: American (lived within what is now the United States), deceased (with enough time having passed since the individual's death to allow for critical evaluation), influenced American history or culture broadly (not just a locally influential individual), sufficient research materials exist on this individual to create a solid biographical essay. Essays are written by scholars and include a bibliography (including an indication of where a person's archives are located), links to reliable online resources, and links to cross-referenced individuals. Additionally, there are links to thematically related essays from the "Oxford Companion to United States History" to help place the individual in the larger trends and issues of his time. Drawing again on the "Oxford Companion to United States History " there are links to articles in 12 broad research topics to help focus a paper or research on an individual or an era. ANB may be searched by name, by keyword (any occurrence of it), or click on the "Search" tab to conduct an advanced search by gender, profession, birthplace, and other features. Oxford UP.
Provides international travelers with information on over 175 countries and addresses 22 topics of interest such as business culture, communications, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, security, society and culture, tips for businesswomen, transportation, and travel essentials. Maps and photographs are included.
Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, articles not yet in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary (tenth edition), the Britannica book of the year, as well as news articles from BBC News and The New York Times.