British and American Literature

Provides online access to the historical dictionary of the English language. Includes definitions, history of word use (including first recorded use starting c. 1200), but goes beyond this to include essays on the history of the English language, on particular idiomatic word uses, jargon, and slang, on regional English variations, and on the origins of all languages (not just English). Includes various features like "Word of the Day " which may be subscribed to for free, and timelines indicating when a word entered the English language. Oxford University Press.

Contains biographies, criticisms and articles on literary authors and their works from throughout the world.

Provides access to a wide variety of literature information. Entry is by “Keyword ” “Name of work ” or “Person-By or About.”, Tabs at the top divide results into Literature Criticism, Biographies, Topic & Work Overviews, Reviews & News, Primary Sources & Literary Works and Multimedia. Includes Gale's 12 literary criticism collections which are also in Gale’s database, Literature criticism. Also includes Scribner’s Writers Series, Twayne’s Authors Series, and other Gale literary encyclopedias and handbooks. In addition you will find references and links to full text for a variety of journal articles and some NPR commentaries. Gale Cengage

Presents detailed information on more than 6 000 journals and book series in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Most but not all are currently indexed in the MLA International Bibliography.

Provides detailed information on more than 300 000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. 

Presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. 

Allows cross-searching of the following Gale databases: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism.