It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
British and American Literature
The essential resources for the study of British and American literary criticism.
Provides a subject, author, and title index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. MLA indexers review books, journals, and Web sites for material that relates to all forms of human communication. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. EBSCOhost.
Covers English language and literature published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. Contains monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays. Unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920–1999. Compiled under the auspices of the Modern Humanities Research Association. Proquest.
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines. For journals, JSTOR mainly serves an archival function, it contains recent issues for some titles, but for most titles the available issues are two years old or more. Can be searched by author, title, or keyword, with limits available for discipline, dates, language, type of publication, and publication title. No subject access is provided, so use other databases for subject searching.
Indexes the table of contents of journals going as far back as 1665 and as recent as 1995. It covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences and indexes over 15 million articles. Periodicals Index Online covers not only journals published by academic presses but also those journals published as popular reading which now provide valuable research materials for scholars. ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey
Indexes articles from English-language periodicals from 1907 to 1984. Includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous, lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilson's International Index and Social Science and Humanities Index included.
Indexes all types of writing about television and film, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals. Subjects covered include film & television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes major academic film journals, international film publications such as Cahiers du Cinema, Cinema in India, Cinemaya, Filmkultura, SegnoCinema, and Kinetoscopio, and the full text of Variety Movie Reviews back to 1920.
Covers scholarship on the middle ages (500 - 1400). One of two premier databases. International in scope and in languages, simple and advanced searches may be limited by academic discipline, geographical area, and centuries. Advanced search permits limits to author, title, language, and year of publication. As search boxes are filled in, the number of matching items is listed in red in the lower right-hand corner next to the "Search" button. Results are listed from most current to oldest. The database is updated 4 times per year. Citations include brief annotations on content. Journal articles and articles in collected essays only, no books or book reviews included. Works with Zotero, exports to RefWorks. Brepols.
Indexes research on the middle ages and renaissance (400 - 1700) in journals, books, conference papers, catalogs, discographies, and dissertations. An essential resource, international in scope. Coverage for journals dates back to 1784, for books to 1931. Includes access to books in the series: Other voice in early modern Europe: Toronto series. The "Basic Search" is by keyword, but "Advanced Search" allows for limits by author, title, subject and Dewey and LC call numbers. Advanced Search also permits limits by language and type of work (bibliography, review article, thesis, etc.). Supports Zotero and RefWorks. University of Toronto.
Provides a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide. Containing over 127 500 annotated entries, this collected information is an essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England. Begun in 1950 as a bibliographical supplement to Shakespeare Quarterly, the World Shakespeare Bibliography (WSB) has expanded over the years to become a searchable electronic database that allows users unparalleled access to Shakespeare-related material. Folger Shakespeare Library.
This database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Dissertations since 1997 are available in PDF format with 24 page previews.
The collection offers: The most comprehensive available listing of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716. Access to bibliographic coverage of theses produced by British and Irish universities. Bibliographic listings for content for 1950-1986. Abstracts for content since 1986.