It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 3311 English Literature through the Sixteenth Century: Primary Sources
Access prompt books for Shakespeare’s plays from the collection of prompt books in the Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington, DC. Prompt books are the script of the play marked up to show notes on a specific production, including any changes made to the play (cutting scenes, rearranging dialogue, etc.), and may include instructions on technical production elements such as lighting, music, and stage directions. The collection covers 42 plays from a production of Twelfth Night in the 1600’s to a 1975 production of The Tempest, and includes British, American, and international productions. Search features include a browse by play, simple, and advanced search. Interactive features include viewing two prompt books of the same play side-by-side, an introduction to prompt books and common annotations seen in them, and a chronology. A section on case studies delves more deeply into seventeen productions of various plays. There is a glossary and biographies of well-known Shakesearian actors and directors. Adam Matthew.
Provides a database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts. The oldest MSS catalogued date from the 9th century. Presently viewable are records for 5,300 manuscripts and 27,000 images. Texts are found in Catalan, Czech, Dutch, English, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Icelandic, Italian, Latin, Occitan, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Collection of 52 manuscripts (12th-16th c.) in the British Library, London. The collection, which emphasizes the prose romance tradition, includes 20 variant manuscripts of Geoffrey of Monmouth's Historia regum Britanniae, 26 manuscripts of the French prose tradition of Chrétien de Troyes and Robert de Boron, and concludes with the Winchester manuscript of Malory's Morte D'Arthur.
There is a printed guide to this collection in the Microform Guide shelves at MFC 1291 pt.1 Guide .
The Baylor Libraries also has a complete collection of all the manuscripts of Marie de France in microfilm. We also have microfilm scanners which will copy the microfilm to a PDF file. Please don't hesitate to ask me about this collection.