Reading an MLAIB Entry
When you want to focus on a specific piece of literature use the tag Primary Subject Work in the MLA Bibliography. This option is in the "Select a field" box in the MLA International Bibliography online. Using this feature also bypasses any variation in spelling in the article title itself - is it Fairy Queen, Faerie Queen, or Faerie Queene?
You can can see the way Primary Subject Work shows up in the MLA Bibliography entry below (in pink).
There is a similar box for Primary Subject Author useful for when you are looking for an author (Marie de France) as a subject of scholarly articles, rather than for what that person has written.
For authors with an extensive list of works, combine both the Primary Subject Author and Primary Subject Work to get very specific results.
- Structure and Meaning in Sir Gawain and the Green Knight
- Authors: Margeson, Robert W.
- Source: Papers on Language and Literature: A Journal for Scholars and Critics of Language and Literature (Edwardsville, IL) 1977; 13: 16-24.
- Peer Reviewed: Yes
- ISSN:0031-1294
- General Subject Areas:
- Subject Literature: English literature
Period: 1100-1499 Middle English period
Primary Subject Work: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight - Document Information:
- Publication Type: journal article
Language of Publication: English
Update Code: 197701
Sequence Numbers: 1977-1-2556 - Accession Number: 1977102556
- Database: MLA International Bibliography
Basic databases
- MLA international bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography is the first choice database for scholarly articles on literature, language, and linguistics. Indexes books published, journal articles, book reviews, and book chapters. No abstracts and few full-text articles. Use the BU Infolinks button to locate the articles or books in Baylor's libraries.
- World Shakespeare bibliography online This link opens in a new windowProvides a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide. Containing over 127 500 annotated entries, this collected information is an essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England. Begun in 1950 as a bibliographical supplement to Shakespeare Quarterly, the World Shakespeare Bibliography (WSB) has expanded over the years to become a searchable electronic database that allows users unparalleled access to Shakespeare-related material. Folger Shakespeare Library.
- Year's work in English studies (Online)An annual collection of signed bibliographic essays surveying the year's scholarship in English literature. Includes periods and genres; reference materials, literary history, and bibliography; the English language; literary theory; American literature (to 1900 and for the 20th century); and new literatures in English. Indexed. Lag time for print edition is approximately three years; Online is current. An important evaluative reference source. Good place to start to understand the state of the scholarship about literature.
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines.
Marie de France
