It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here is a helpful starting place for research in Journalism
Provides indexing and abstracts for the fields of communication studies, journalism and mass communication. It includes over 700 journals, over 450 of those in full text. While it is primarily comprised of the core communication studies journals, it does also include non-core journals which help to extend the resource to include the growing interdisciplinary nature of the field. EBSCOhost.
Contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary scholarly literature of the communication(s) field (mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication, and new media, journalism, communication history, etc.) and is searchable by word, phrase, or author. The records are also tagged with a controlled vocabulary of keywords and "metaterms."
Indexes essays and chapters in single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. It includes publications from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain, covering 1985 to the present date.
Provides a great starting place for research, as it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12 500 journals in all academic subjects, including more than 8 500 full-text and 7 300 peer-reviewed journals. Other types of publications included in this resource are books and book chapters, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings, reports, etc. Searchable by keyword, title, author, subject, journal name, and a lot more. Results can be limited by date, language, publication type, full-text status or whether a journal is scholarly/peer-reviewed. EBSCOhost.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes citations to book reviews and abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. It includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts. Records. Searchable by author, title, keyword, descriptors, source, and 26 other fields. Covers the years 1952 to the present time. ProQuest/CSA.
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes. EBSCOhost.
The Encyclopedia of American Journalism is the only single-volume reference work to explore the history of journalism in the United States in print media, radio, television, and the Internet. This groundbreaking volume documents the integral part that journalism has played in the formation of American culture--with 405 entries ranging in length from 500 to 5,000 words. Now in paperback, this volume covers key figures and watershed moments in the history of American journalism. The range of entries is vast, covering historical notables such as William Randolph Hearst and Elizabeth Cady Stanton and contemporary press personalities like Tom Brokaw and Helen Thomas; news outlets including CNN, New York Times, Salon.com, Sports Illustrated, and the Associated Press; historical themes and practices from muckraking to reporting on terrorism; and much more. Every entry includes a substantial list of suggestions for further reading. The Encyclopedia of American Journalism is an indispensable reference for anyone seeking to understand the foundations of the press as the "fourth pillar" of American democracy.
Everyone agrees that we're living in the Information Age. How have we shaped the Information Age, and how has it shaped us? The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications exhaustively explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research.
Authoritative and wide-ranging, A Dictionary of Media and Communication provides over 2,200 alphabetical entries on key terms used in media and communication, from concepts and theories to technical terms, across subject areas that include advertising, digital culture, journalism, new media, radio studies, and telecommunications. It also covers relevant terminology from related disciplines such as literary theory, semiotics, cultural studies, and philosophy. With many relevant web links accessed via an up-to-date companion webpage, as well as a biographical appendix with web links to key people, this is a valuable resource for media professionals, postgraduates, academics, and researchers and an eminently practical and user-friendly reference for anyone involved in the worlds of media and communication. It will also be indispensable for undergraduate students majoring in media or communication studies, and for those taking related subjects such as film studies, visual culture, and cultural studies.